top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

A Dream Come True: Vorhees Realizes Dream After Signing With Polar Bears

Former Notre Dame College Basketball Star and Division II Player Of The Year Will Vorhees has dreamed of becoming a pro basketball player his whole life. That dream came true this week when Vorhees signed a one year contract with the Eisbaren Bremerhaven Polar Bears in the German Pro-A-league. Vorhees will leave for Germany on Thursday. The Polar Bears were league champions in 2005 in the North Division of the second tier league. They then moved to the top league.

"You can move up or down in the league depending on how you do."Vorhees stated.

Bremerhaven after a rough stretch dropped back a league in 2018-19. They hope Vorhees can be a factor in the squad getting back to the top where they were in 2005.

Vorhees thanked everyone who made this possible on his facebook and twitter accounts:

" I would like to announce that I have officially signed with the Eisenbaren Bremerhaven Polar Bears in the German Pro-A. I am so excited for the opportunity and I appreciate everyone who has supported me or helped me achieve my goal of becoming a professional basketball player. This is a great first step in a journey that is only beginning. Being a pro has been a dream of mine since I began to play. Now that I have achieved this goal it reassured me that all of the hard work I have put towards this game has paid off. The toughest part of the journey for me has been to go thru this without my father. It was always a team effort with us. So many different times he believed in me more than I believed in myself. Figuring out how to have that mindset for myself that he had for me and operating without him was definitely the toughest part."Vorhees said.

Brian Jungreis who is the agent for Will had this to say about the former MEC Player Of The Year signing in Germany:

" This is a huge start for Will's career. Guys coming from high major programs sign there for the first contract. For instance former University of Akron Guard Quincy Diggs and former Indiana University guard Jordan Hulls will be teammates of his in Germany."

Of course a lot of hard work had to be done for Vorhees to get to this point in his career. Vorhees who was the Ron Lenz National Player Of The Year-and- MEC Player Of The Year averaged 29 points- and- 11 rebounds per game his senior season. He eclipsed the 30 point mark 14 times and scored 40 or more points four times. He was the also the Most Outstanding Player in the MEC Tournament in leading the Falcons to the first outright tournament title in school history. Vorhees scored 44 points and grabbed 10 rebounds against #13 Virginia State in the Falcons first NCAA game in school history in March. When you are coming from a small school and only had one scholarship offer coming out of high school you have to work extra hard. Vorhees told me he tries to get shots up everyday and lifts weights at least five times a week.

It all began in Lima for Vorhees who attended Columbus Grove High School and he talked a little bit about Lima:

" Lima is where the grind began- since i've been a little kid coming up thru basketball programs, camps, and AAU teams. They develop kids into great players. Lima produces a lot of talent for such a small city."Vorhees stated.

Former NDC teammate and a guy who Vorhees grew up with Bruce Hodges talked about what this means to the whole city:

" "My initial thought was the Polar Bears got a great player. As good a player as he is Will is an even better person. Growing up with Will and both of us being from Lima it meant the world to not only me but the whole city of Lima."

Vorhees talked about his time at NDC. It was such a good time at NDC and was such a big part of my life for the past five years. I met so many people that will be lifelong friends which is something pretty powerful. The back court club was so good to me. I could not be more grateful for them. It is full of great people that care about all NDC player's success after college and help in any way they can. Hopefully I can repay the favor to them somehow.

Former NDC coach and current Fairmont State Coach Tim Koenig talked a little about his former star player:

"This is so cool for Will. It is an incredible opportunity for him to start his pro career. I am so happy and so proud of Will. I want to get the links to watch his games throughout the season."

NDC Assistant Coach Pam Phillips gave her thoughts:

" This is a fantastic opportunity for Will. He has the chance to show the world what Notre Dame College and it's fans already know that Will is a world class player. I wish him the best of luck and will be watching his long and prosperous basketball career."

A lot of this would not have been possible if Vorhees had not gone out to Las Vegas to work out for 28 out of the 30 NBA teams several weeks back. He talked about his trip out to Vegas and how it paved the way to being a pro- and- his dream of playing in the NBA one day:

" The best part about Vegas for me was playing against the best talent I have played against up to this point. When I was in Vegas I traveled to Chicago briefly and played for a Euro-League team in a Euro-League showcase and my team won the tournament. I feel like if I did not set the goal of making the NBA one day I would be selling myself short. The other move I made was hiring an agent. My agent Brian does a great job and I feel like he honestly does everything in his power to put me in the highest position possible for me. No complaints from my end. I don't feel as bouncy physically as I did when I was 19 but my body is still holding up well and has improved in a lot of ways. Strength being one of them."

Former teammate Isaiah Sanders chimed in:

" Will deserves it. He was the best player in the country this year and for a lot of his career he was at the top. As a younger guy I look to reach those same goals that he's accomplished but more. Will is an amazing player and teammate. His team is more than lucky to have a guy like Will in that locker room."

Lastly I have to give kudos to my coaches and talk about the grind itself:

" I owe so much to my coaches. They helped me in every way they could. There is no way I would be in this position without them. My teammates are my brothers and have always been so supportive of me and wished me the best. Having that type of positive energy around 24/7 makes all of this so much easier. I'm definitely going to miss everyone while i'm gone but I know it's for the best. As for the grind- it is more of a grind than I realized it was going to be and it hasn't even really started yet. I'm looking forward to it though."



93 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page