top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Ants Marching!

Updated: Nov 3, 2021

Vorhees Drafted By Pacers G-League Affiliate.


Former Division II Player Of The Year and Notre Dame College grad Will Vorhees was drafted by the Fort Wayne Mad Ants (The Mad Ants are the Indiana Pacers G-league affiliate, and the G-League is the NBA developmental league.) This is what Vorhees had to say about getting the call:

" I received a call the day I got drafted (Saturday October 23rd) from the General Manager of the Mad Ants Chris Taylor. He welcomed me to training camp, gave me some information about having to be in Indianapolis the following day, and I thanked him for the opportunity,"

Vorhees stated.


Former teammate and current Fairmont senior Isaiah Sanders had this to say about Vorhees:

" I think this is a great opportunity for Will. As long as he keeps working hard, staying positive and being the type of player he is, his opportunities are endless when it comes to basketball. I am happy for him and know he will succeed."

Bruce Hodges was a teammate of Vorhees in 2019 when NDC brought the Mountain East Conference Championship to South Euclid, he talked about his fellow Lima native:

" He's a Lima kid so you know I am excited for him. He works hard so he deserves everything that comes to him. Last year we had Xavier Simpson get drafted in the G-league draft, this year we got Will. Don't sleep on Lima basketball please."

Vorhees is still represented by the same agent since his pro career began, Brian Jungeris. He told me that he does not know any of his teammates now, or his current Coach Tom Hankins.

He explained how training camp in the G-league works:

"The way it works is this training camp is basically the tryout. 16 or 17 guys are here and they will be keeping 10 of us. "


Current Fairmont State Coach and former Notre Dame College Head Coach Tim Koenig had this to say about what he knew:

" His agent Brian (Jungeris) and I have talked a pretty good amount. I knew that he was entered into the draft, Brian has quite a few players in the NBA, he stays in touch with Will frequently. I knew this was a possibility."

Former NDC teammate Dan Lott talked about how proud he is of Vorhees and one thing that surprised him:

" It's awesome seeing a former teammate do this well. I'm surprised his talent did not get noticed sooner. That's the beauty of the journey though. I am proud of Big Will."


Vorhees told me that playing in Germany really prepared him for this moment, that experience goes a long way because the top league in Germany really prepared him for this moment, that experience goes a long way because the top league in Germany is one of the five or six best leagues in the world. He has already played against players of the same caliber of the G-league if not higher.


Current Fairmont State Graduate Assistant and former Vorhees teammate Jack Kelsheimer had these thoughts about Vorhees:

" I am happy for Will. He is one of the greatest players to ever come through the Mountain East Conference. I would not be surprised if his career continued to take him to higher places."


The Fort Wayne Mad Ants season begins on November 6th. Vorhees talked about getting closer to his dream, as well as thanking several people along the way:

"I have to thank my father for training me through my youth, Tim Koenig, and Coach (Tim) Baab for training me through college, my family for always supporting me, and really any coach or teammate who has influenced me in the past because I believe your experience molds you into the player but more importantly the person that you are, good or bad."

Koenig had these thoughts:

" It is Will's dream to play in the United States and be closer to his family. It was tough to not go anywhere or do anything for 10 months during COVID-19. When nobody was around at NDC we thought these things were possible, and it is so much fun when they come to fruition."

Koenig continued about Vorhees growth:

" His growth and success are linear, he was not the guy in the top league in Germany. He learned a lot more and learned how to play at both ends. He has had a lot of learning curves.

Whereas when he was at NDC he was the key for us, the key for the other team, the focal point of all the scouting reports. He is now playing with guys who play in the NBA, other guys who play for their countries national teams. He is one of the guys you see on TV. That is pretty awesome."

Koenig talked about Vorhees playing in the U.S. now:

" I am trying to make it work with my schedule to go and see him play. It is something that we can figure out. I might go to Washington D.C. when they play there, which is not far from Fairmont. That is also not far from Lima where Will played in High School. Will is going to have quite the fan entourage in Cleveland, the morning hoopers, all the people who used to come watch him play in his days in South Euclid will be there on February 23rd when the Mad Ants battle the Cleveland Charge at the Wolstein Center.

Vorhees continued:

"Although I have played at a very high level in Europe it is exciting to be associated with anything that has the NBA logo attached to it, it's obviously every player's dream to reach the NBA and the fact that i'm one step away definitely provides me with extra motivation. "

Koenig closed by talking about what dreams are made of:

" This is what dreams are made of, you can't make this stuff up. Great energy, great enthusiasm and getting to play in the U.S.A. It is what you dream about your whole basketball life. He gets to practice at the Indiana Pacers practice facility. I am so happy ,and proud of him. So happy to be able to be a part of his growth."



Vorhees working on his shot.

Vorhees with the jumper.

Putting in the work.

Vorhees and a host of former MEC players got together to form a team (the Underground Kings) to compete in the TBT (The Basketball Tournament.)

168 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page