top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Falcon flock eyes return to the 'Murph.'

These three stars will amp up the excitement: Mike Sampson, Tyland Crawford, and John Godinez



The fans will be back and basketball expectations are high...NDC basketball standout seniors Mike Sampson and Tyland Crawford and sophomore John Godinez can't wait to play in front of raucous crowds at Murphy Gym this season.


"I am really excited to have the energy and noise in the stands, it will be an advantage when we try and defend our home court. I also can't wait to run it back with this squad. This past year was a brand new team with with a lot of new guys, including me,"Sampson said.

"Now we have a year of experience and high expectations" he continued.


Godinez voiced similar sentiments: "I am very excited and ready to play in front of the fans this year because from what I am hearing, it is really loud and fun in Murphy Gym when the fans are into the game. Last year without the fans it was really hard to get going and energized. We had to create our own energy and it started on the bench. When I wasn't in the game I tried to be loud and as vocal as possible and get my teammates hyped."


Crawford gave his thoughts on the topic:

"I'm hyped about playing in 'The Murph' this year. I'm told it's the best place to play in the conference with fans and i'm looking forward to it. Last season we had to create our own energy with the team and ourselves to perform at a high level each game. It was a warm feeling

seeing fans at the conference tournament which got me even more excited for next season. Next season will be an exciting one for us. We have about ten guys returning and with the new additions to the squad, I feel we have what we need to win a conference championship."


Here is a little background info on these three players and a quick look at some of the talents they bring to this team:


Mike Sampson: "I don't see myself as an undersized big. I did what I needed to do last year but there is much more to my game than a typical guard in basketball. I have an advantage because I have guard skills with more height which allows me to guard the 'bigs' in our league. I use my size against smaller guards and use my quickness and guard skills against 'bigs' which allows me to usually have a mismatch, "Sampson explained.

He also said he learned to be more vocal last season. "I'm usually to myself and quiet but the coaching staff encouraged me and forced me out of that which has helped both and off the court. "Coach Rich (Mark Richmond) is more chill and laid back while Coach Dunc (Duncan Williams) is more vocal and at times more aggressive. A good combo, " he added.


Playing in the MEC (Mountain East Conference) has its benefits according to Sampson. He told me that for him it really helps because of the high scoring in the league. "This league scores and rebounds at a very high level. Especially when we play non-conference games it helps because of the experience of the MEC, " he explained.


Sampson has high praise for all of his teammates, John Godinez and Tyland Crawford are at the top of his list. "I met John at one of our first open gyms. I really liked his pick and roll game a lot and he is a very quick ball handler. He's a big time competitor which I liked as well. It is good to have a guard like John because he makes the game easier for me, "Sampson said.

Sampson told me that since day one Crawford has been like a brother to him. He also said he thinks Crawford's game compliments his very well. "Playing with Tyland is good because we are so close in height. That is an advantage when we switch on defense. We can be versatile because of the similarities we have, "Sampson explained.


Sampson said he got his tenacity and work ethic from his Mom and threw some humor into the conversation by saying he got his 'wisdom teeth' from his Dad. When asked about his decision to choose NDC Sampson said: "I let God guide my decision and I felt NDC was the place to go."


Sampson did not start playing basketball until he was 15, by the way. He must be a quick study.


Tyland Crawford: Crawford told me a bit about his background: "As far as I can remember I have been loving basketball. My earliest memories include playing in my first basketball league at the Dale Recreation Center in my hometown of Woodbridge, Virginia. I was one of just a few kids who could dribble without traveling and shoot from anywhere on the court. Ever since I was four or five years old basketball has been there for me, "he said.


"In high school I played against the best players in the DMV (DC-Maryland-Virginia) area. I was able to achieve some individual and team accolades like being an All-State, Region, and Conference Play and winning a conference championship. While playing AAU I traveled across the country facing many talented players and having good battles with them, "Crawford continued.


This is how Crawford ended up at NDC: "The recruiting process for me was a wild one. Out of high school I earned a scholarship to play at North Greenville University, a Division 2 school in South Carolina. From there I took a year off because my parents became sick. After the year off, I attended Virginia CommonWealth University (VCU.) My plan was to walk on but ultimately it didn't work out. From there I decided to stay home and attend Northern Virginia Community College. This is where I played my butt off and got noticed by some Division 1 schools and many Division 2 schools. NDC made sense to me because of the relationship that was formed between me, Coach Richmond, and Coach Duncan, "Crawford noted.


"Our coaches are young guys in the coaching world who love basketball and want to see every player improve their game. It is hard to find that at other schools. You can talk to them about anything whether it is basketball related or life. They will listen and give great feedback,"Crawford explained.


" I have learned from my teachers, coaches, and staff at NDC to ask as many questions as I can. Everyone at NDC just wants the student-athletes to succeed, not only on the court but most importantly in life, "Crawford said.


Here is Crawford's take on playing in the MEC: "Playing in a league like the MEC prepares you for any team, in my opinion. Everyone in this league likes to play at a fast pace the full 40 minutes of the game, but other conferences don't. That puts our league at an advantage because we score so much and play at a pace that many teams can't handle. Also, the biggest difference between D2 and JUCO basketball is discipline."


Crawford has high praise for teammate Sampson: "When I first met Mike (Sampson) he was very quiet and to himself. My first conversation with him was casual. We just talked about where we were from and how to stay consistent and become a better athlete and basketball player. Mike is very underrated, especially at his size. He is very athletic and has a knack for the ball which helped him average a double-double this season. Everyday he pushes himself in every drill. People have started to take notice."


And Crawford added a good dose of praise for Godinez too: "The first time I met John Godinez at an open gym, I noticed his playing style reminds me of a lot of the players from the Maryland and DC area. They play hard and gritty the whole time on the court. After the open gym I asked him where he was from, and he replied 'Baltimore.' From there we clicked and started to form a friendship. Being from the DMV makes you bring a form of pride everywhere you go. Godinez also brings his nitty-gritty defense with his flashy and shifty offense every night. He will be a great point guard for us this upcoming season."


Crawford told me his Mom has always taught him to be humble. "I am very fortunate to be where I am and playing the game I love at the collegiate level because I know it can be taken away at any moment. I just try to appreciate the little things in life because I am very blessed to have the support system that I do, "he said.


Crawford also made sure to mention what his Dad has always told him. "What you put in is what you get out. Whatever you pursue or do in life you must work hard for it to achieve the things you desire to have."


John Godinez is a 5'9" inches tall and weighs 162 pounds. Average size off the court, but unusual on the basketball court. How did he end up as the starting point guard on the NDC basketball team as a freshman? Perhaps it is his gritty play, big heart, and good work ethic. When I asked Godinez what it felt like to start as a freshman this is what he said: "It was pretty cool to start as a freshman because a lot of players can't say they did that freshman year. I put in a lot of work so I was not surprised because I trusted my work and believed in myself. It was a real blessing to start as a freshman. I learned a lot. Being a starter prepared me for everything because I was on the court more. The more things I learned, the more confidence I had. It also showed me my weaknesses and what I need to work on, which is good!"


Godinez was seven when he saw his brothers playing basketball in the driveway in Maryland and that was the point when he knew that basketball was in the family genes and he wanted to play. He went on to a very successful high school career at Parkville High School where he gained a lot of accolades. "High school basketball is something I will always miss, and never take for granted,"he said.


Hard work is a trait that Godinez told me he got from his mother. "She never gave up and was never satisfied,"he explained. Godinez thanks his father for instilling in him his competitiveness and how much he hates to lose.


NDC was lucky to snag Godinez after his high school coach sent films. NDC liked what they saw right away and Coach Duncan Williams started talking to Godinez. They built a relationship from there. "It was the right fit for me, and that is when I committed to NDC,"Godinez explained. "The staff at NDC has taught me to never take this college life for granted, to live in the moment, and never be satisfied, "he continued. Godinez thinks what makes the staff at NDC unique is they are so competitive. "Just like we are, " he said, "and they let us play our own game."


Godinez likes to talk about what a great teammate Sampson is: "What makes Mike such a great teammate is he works hard for the team and he is extremely competitive, like me. Both of us hate losing. It is really a lot of fun to play with Mike because he always feeds off a lot of energy, is very unselfish and will always be there for you on and off the court."

Tyland Crawford won praise from Godinez too: "Tyland is also a very cool guy to talk to, and is quite funny. He is a good teammate because he treats everybody the same and he doesn't feel like he is above anybody. He treats them all like his brothers and is always looking out for them. His game compliments mine very well because he can do everything and makes the game easier for me because he can score."


The MEC (Mountain East Conference) is high on Godinez's list too. "Playing in the MEC prepares me because there are a lot of good players in the conference. I think there are a lot of potential Division 1 players in the conference, so it prepares me because of how good the conference is."


All three players have shown promise, and continue to improve. That can only mean great competition and a lot to cheer about this year.


High expectations, return of the crowds, and experience bode well for the upcoming basketball season. Stay tuned................. #FlyAbove






Godinez orchestrates the offense against West Liberty.

Sampson powers his way to the hoop. Also note that Sampson will be using the free year last season so he is qualified as a junior.

Crawford at the free throw line.

391 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page