top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Four Different NDCWBB Captains Navigating An Unprecedented Time:

The four captains of the Notre Dame College women's basketball team for the 2021 season consist of a pair of seniors (Julie Kemp, Shay Davidson) along with a pair of juniors (Theresa Parr, and Jada Marone.)

Kemp was about eight years old when she picked up a basketball for the first time. She talked about her first exposure to basketball:

' I would go to basketball practice with my sister Stephanie, and just mess around while she was practicing. I never had the intention to play basketball, I wanted to do gymnastics,"Kemp said."

Parr talked about when she started to get into basketball:

" I was in third grade when I picked up a basketball for the first time. I started playing organized basketball for Our Lady of The Elms, my private school, that year. It was in Akron," Parr said.

Marone was six years old, and showed her competitive spirit as a youngster just like she does today:

" I was was six years old when I picked up a basketball for the first time. I started playing organized recreational basketball when I was in the first grade. I quit because I couldn't make a basket. I joined again the following year and played for the Yellow Raiders. For four years, my mom coached me on her recreational team called the Mercury. I played for MidPark Elite in the Lake Erie Basketball League (LEBL) until I was old enough to play school basketball," Marone stated.

Julie Kemp informed me that she was in the seventh grade at North Olmsted Middle School when she tried out for the basketball team, and she was very surprised when as she said: "I somehow made the team."

When asked when she knew basketball was the sport for her, Kemp talked about that happening in the eighth grade:

"I knew that basketball was the sport for me going into the summer before eighth grade. Cheryl Bansek was the varsity coach at North Olmsted, and she was the only coach who had taken a lot of interest in me and was committed to developing my game. Kemp was very blunt about one thing: " I was awful. She (Bansek) only coached me my freshmen year. She made me play summer league with the varsity when I was still in middle school."

Davidson was in fifth grade, so about nine or 10 years old when she started playing organized basketball. She spoke about when she knew basketball was the sport for her:

" I did not know until I was in the ninth grade that basketball was the sport that I wanted to play in college. I played for Avon High School,"Davidson mentioned.

The two seniors spoke about their childhoods. First, Kemp talked about hers:

"My childhood was always fun from what I can remember. The best part of my childhood was during the summer, my siblings and I would spend the whole summer at my grandma Carol and papa Paul's house. We would spend the day running around and doing stuff with my grandma and at night we would joke around and play games with my papa. That was the best part of my childhood. The worst part was that I didn't have a ton of friends who I had a ton of memories with. Being super introverted, I would rather spend my time in bed or just at home with my family."

Kemp talked about her siblings:

" My oldest sister, Steph, actually goes to NDC. She was on the basketball team for three years but ended up walking away from the sport to focus on school, and work. I definitely was upset when I learned Steph was giving up basketball but I understood her reasons. I fully supported her choice and would still support the choice even if it was today. Steph and I have always been generally close, we shared a room at home, and have the same friend group. My younger brother Michael just recently graduated high school. He chose to follow in my papa's footsteps, and enlisted in the Navy. He graduated on October 16th from bootcamp. I am so proud of him as he excelled in bootcamp and sets high standards for himself."

Davidson talked about what her childhood was like, and her siblings both being athletes:

" I had a great childhood. I have two sisters, my sister Sierra is 23, and my younger sister Amari is 20. My oldest sister played basketball at Cleveland State, and my younger sister currently plays at Dayton."

Davidson talked about what her mom and dad do for a living, and the traits she got from each of them:

" My mom, Sue, is an English teacher at Avon High School, and my dad, Otha, works for a company called Norvatis Pharmaceuticals. From my mom I got my sense of humor, and from my dad my work ethic."

Kemp answered the same question:

" My mom, Sue, used to be a kindergarten teacher for many, many years. She currently just started a new career path and works at the Cleveland Clinic. My dad, Paul, is an inside sales associate at an electric company called Mars Electric. A trait I got from my dad, I would say, is my stubbornness and from my mom I got my compassion."

Marone talked about what her parents do for a living:

" My mom, Michelle Cook, works for the government within a branch for social work. In her free time, she referees basketball and volleyball. My father, Clinton, is disabled and does not work anymore. In his free time he enjoys watching sports, and being outside.

Parr informed everyone about what traits she picked up from her mom and dad along with the career paths they have chosen:

" From my mom, Mary, I got organization. She works at Kent State University as a leisure studies professor. From my father, Howard, I get my drive to push myself. He runs the Akron Civic Theater."

Kemp spoke about how she enjoyed playing with her sister in high school, and the challenges she faced:

" My senior year of high school, which was Steph's freshmen year at NDC was a challenge. I really enjoyed playing basketball with Steph in high school because that is all I knew. After not playing together for a year, then being teammates again it was a hard transition for me."

Marone talked about the traits that she got from each of her parents:

" One trait I got from both of my parents is their motivation. They have always found a way to get things done even when put in position to do the opposite. From my mother, I get her sass/spunk, and her strong headed personality. From my father, I got his soft heart/ caring attributes, and his athleticism.

Parr talked about when she first met the three other captains, and what makes them such great leaders:

" I met Julie and Shay the summer going into my freshman year, and they were nothing but welcoming. I met Jada halfway through my freshman year, and we clicked from the very beginning. Shay is always encouraging, Julie's assertive attitude, and Jada is always driving everyone to be the best they can be."

Marone talked about her first encounter with the three other captains:

" I met Shay in sixth grade when we both played for the same AAU program called SMAC. Even though she was a year older, I played with her younger sister and all of the teams in that program were generally close. Our parents even clicked and stayed in touch after. I met Julie my freshman year of AAU for a program I switched to on a team called TNBA. I played up with her, and even took a road trip to Kentucky with her and her mom, too. Julie was also in my conference in high school, as she went to North Olmsted, and I went to Berea-MidPark, so we played against each other. I met Theresa when I transferred to NDC, from the moment I met T, I was comfortable with her, she really got me "out of my shell." I am so grateful we are in the same class so we can go through our basketball career as good friends."

Davidson talked about how she played against Kemp in high school:

" Julie and I played against each other in high school. She played for North Olmsted, and I played for Avon. We were in the same conference junior and senior year. We also played AAU against each other. She played for MAC basketball, and I played for SMAC."

Marone talked about her high school experience:

" High school was a great opportunity for me to decide what person I truly wanted to become. I focused and dedicated a lot of my time to basketball, resulting in me not having many friends. The ones I did have I was close with, so they made my high school experience better. Basketball always was my number one priority, so I would get to school early enough to workout before classes, workout during my study hall periods, go to my classes, practice, and then head home. I loved it!"

Kemp talked about the process of choosing NDC:

" The process of choosing NDC was definitely different for me. In eighth grade, I had come to NDC for a skills camp, and then never really thought about the school again. Once in high school and around the time of recruiting, I had noticed it was the same coaching staff. They had watched Steph and I play in summer league, and we later visited NDC together. After Steph had committed to NDC, I kind of lost interest in the school because I did want to experience something without my sister by my side. I came on my official visit to meet the team and experience the campus life and absolutely fell in love. A couple weeks after my visit, I committed to NDC and have not regretted the decision since."

Parr spoke about how she knew she wanted to go to NDC early in the process:

" Since my sophomore year of High School, Notre Dame College showed great interest in me, coming to my soccer, basketball, and AAU basketball games. I went to Stow Monroe Falls High School, which was also the school that Jessie Stout, who graduated last season, went to. The connection made between Coach Lo and I was very special because we were able to build a bond so early on. The decision to come to NDC was not difficult for me because I loved the "family" feeling the college gave me."

Marone took a much different path than any of the girls on the current squad to NDC, she explained how all that happened:

" I transferred to NDC from Southeast Louisiana University the second semester of my freshman year. I was out injured for six months, which caused me to have an everyday mental battle with myself. My father ended up having a severe stroke, resulting in him now being disabled. I thought it was best for me to set my needs aside, head back home and take care of my father. I placed myself in the transfer portal just because, but I knew I no longer wanted to play basketball anymore. Being put in the transfer portal, I immediately received multiple Division I offers over 10 hours away from home (Marone is from Berea,) but I didn't want basketball to be my life or to be far away from my family anymore. I wanted to have some free time to take care of my father. My high school athletic director, Adam Howard, a former NDC football coach, reached out to me about the school (NDC,) and told me I'd be a great fit. Looking back on that situation, I am more than grateful to have people that still believed in me and my capabilities when I did not."

Marone continued by talking about the difference between NDC and Southeastern Louisiana:

" The weather is the biggest difference. In Louisiana the weather was 80 degrees or higher in the summer, plus the extreme humidity. The food is completely different as well, I personally enjoyed the food better in Louisiana than Ohio. Lastly, the campus life differs in terms of SELU having more students and a bigger campus than NDC."

Kemp, then talked about Davidson's outlook:

" Shay has a positive outlook to almost anything even if it brings her down a little bit. She is always able to find the good in a situation, and then make the best of it no matter what."

Kemp brought some humor into the conversation when talking about her relationship with Davidson:

" When I first met Shay I was not sure what to expect. Shay and I were roommates freshmen year, we initially clicked right away as once we were together all the time we realized how much we have in common. We tell people we are twin sisters."

Parr talked about her first impression of Davidson:

"Shay is always so encouraging no matter what the situation is. She finds the positives in just about anything. She was so welcoming when I met her."

Davidson talked about getting recruited to NDC:

" When I was recruited (Katie) Hine was the Coach. I knew Coach Lo (Macer) because she was the GA (Graduate Assistant,) and then the Assistant Coach. Coach Gee (Imani Gordon) was hired right when I started my freshmen year here. She also played for Cleveland State like my sister, as she was the Graduate Assistant when my sister played at CSU."

Davidson told me that the thing that makes Coach Lo and Coach Gee so unique is that they both played in college, so that makes them so relatable. They have done literally everything that they ask of their players. "I know I can go to them for Anything." They have created a great environment for the whole team!

Kemp agreed:

"I think what makes both Coach Lo and Coach Gee so unique is they both became coaches shortly after playing college ball. They understand how challenging it can be as they were playing just a few years before us. Even though it is challenging they still hold us to a high standard and are always pushing us to be better."

Parr agreed about the two coaches:

" Both Coach Lo and Coach Gee came from playing college basketball prior to becoming coaches. I think in a lot of ways it helps them relate to us because they've been through what we're going through, from practice. to weights, to conditioning, and balancing school work. In addition they are very easy to talk to if need be, and always have our best interest at heart. They truly are a special team because we are all able to joke and have fun together, but we are also able to buckle down and be serious when the time comes."

Marone echoed the sentiments of the others about Macer, and Gordon:

" They are very easy to relate to as a player because they both played college basketball and they understand what it is like to be in our position. I can relate to Coach Lo a little more on the court because she was a quicker point guard who shot the ball very well. Coach Gee is a pure ballplayer whose stats said enough. I am grateful to have both of them here to help me improve and better develop my game."

Kemp spoke about her living situation now, and how she and Davidson don't hold back from each other:

" I love my living situation now. I live with Shay, Stephanie, Berta (Jok,) who was a volleyball player who opted out of the season, and Lexi (Alexis Karovic) who gave up basketball this year. I have lived with everyone in the house previously except Lexi. We all get along super well, and do just about everything together. The only challenge with a couple of the girls no longer being in sports anymore is our daily schedule. Shay and I are always up early, and busy throughout the day. As for the other girls, they work night shift at the hospital so they sleep for a good amount of the day sometimes."

"As for my relationship with Shay, it is so genuine. Shay and I were always honest with each other about everything. It doesn't matter if it hurts the other person's feelings. I think the honesty between us is what is constantly pushes us to be better both on, and off the court."

One thing that is unique about both Julie Kemp, and Davidson is they are both left-handed. They talked to me about if they thought that was an advantage. First Kemp gave her thought:

" It is sort of an advantage that we are both left-handed. With us being post-players and both being left-handed we tend to run to the same side of the court when we are playing together. Besides that, we make it work and tend to rotate between which sides of the court we are on."

Davidson agreed:

" We both play well off each other, and yes I think it is an advantage that we are both left-handed."

Davidson talked about the lesson that that she learned from one of her professors that will always stick with her:

" Dr. Flaherty runs the Communications Department, and she would say: Always Use Our Powers For Good! I think that is an important lesson for everyone. Coach (Pam) Phillips was also a huge motivator for me when she was here. She literally did it all! (She is now an assistant at Fairmont State.) I have learned from both Coach Lo and Coach Gee, both basketball and life lessons as well."

Kemp talked about what the biggest lesson is she has learned, first of all on the court:

"In high school it isn't hard to be the best player on the court, there is a greater opportunity for people to make the team. In college, everyone is good, there are no tryouts. You simply have to outwork others and earn everything on your own. Off the court the biggest lesson i've learned is if you want something you have to work hard for it. Nothing is going to come easy and just be given to you."

Davidson agreed:

" The difference between the high school and college game on the court is definitely the pace of the game."

Parr talked about the pace of the game, and the expectations of being a college athlete:

" In high school, the game was a lot slower but a lot less demanding. Being a college athlete requires a lot of dedication and time management. There are more expectations as a college athlete."

Kemp then talked about her best memories being off the court, and what she thinks her biggest improvement is on the court:

" My best memories come from off the court. The women and men's basketball teams spend so much time together on the road and in the hotels, it is during these times that I have the best memories. On the court, defense is my biggest improvement. I have worked really hard at being quicker on my feet along with focusing on being straight up when I challenge a shot."

Davidson answered the same question, and talked about how much the alumni mean to her:

" My biggest improvement since I got here has been my confidence in myself, and my abilities on the court. My best memory as a player so far has to be our trip to Hawaii my freshman year. Just all of the time we have spent together on all the away trips since I have been here."

She continued:

" The alumni mean so much to me personally, because I was super close with the girls that graduated last year, but as a program it is so cool to see everyone that has graduated and been part of the team in the past in the stands when we are playing. We appreciate all the time they still invest in the program. The seniors from last season will be missed for sure. For me, I lived with Abi (Oriti,) Katie (Karalic,) and Kyleigh (Ramlow) last year so I miss having them around for sure. On the court, we will miss all the things they contributed, and their leadership."

Parr then talked about what it meant to be named a team captain this season, and how much last season motivates this team:

" I am very honored to have been chosen by my coaches and teammates to help lead this team. Last year was devastating- getting so close and then having the MEC Championship slip away, and in addition, not being able to play in the National Tournament after qualifying for the first time in school history due to this pandemic. I think last year showed us that we are capable, and this year we are able to build on the foundation we made for ourselves in order to accomplish what we know we can."

Marone talked about what an honor it is to be named captain, having not been here as long as some of the girls, and how much last season motivates this team:

" It is cool to be named captain. I know I have not been here the same amount of time as some of the girls, but I appreciate them seeing me fit as a good candidate. As for what is going on now. COVID-19 shortened a lot of playing careers. For us, I think we are highly motivated to now create that history breaking culture for our program. We work hard every day, and push each other as much as we can. Our girls come in ready to push ourselves to new capabilities, we placed seventh in the region rankings, and second in the conference, all while qualifying for the NCAA Tournament last year. We now are placed at third in the regional rankings, playing each game trying to move up this season. We are not done yet, and you will be able to see that this year.

Kemp talked about how she believes the team should pick up where they left off last season:

" Yes, we should have won the MEC Tournament and we were more than ready to play Glenville in the First Round of the NCAA Tournament. We are motivated to start this season off on the same note that we ended it."

Kemp talked about how being named a captain doesn't change her mindset at all:

" It was awesome hearing that I was a captain for sure, I was not expecting it at all. Even if I wasn't named a captain, I would still continue to do what I do."

Davidson talked about the heartbreak of last season and looking forward to what the freshmen bring this year:

" We were all so heartbroken last season because we had so much more to prove. But what happened was to all the athletes all over the country, so we had to try our best to move on from it. I think we are extremely motivated this year, and we have all the tools to be successful no matter how it looks. As for the incoming freshman, I am so excited for them all to be here with us. They are all so hungry and eager to learn! They all bring something different to our team from on and off the court, I am so excited to see each one of them grow. They work so hard, this year will be lots of fun!""

Davidson talked about how excited she is to be a captain:

" It means a lot to me to be trusted by my coaches and teammates to be a captain this year. Jada, T, and Julie are great leaders both on and off the court."

Whether it be navigating through an unprecedented off-season that is longer than ever or using last season as motivation, all in the NDC community and fan base know these four girls earned this honor. The next part of the journey has begun. The season began last Thursday with a season opening win at West Liberty, and then they defeated Wheeling in South Euclid for the home opener on Sunday afternoon. The Falcons have cracked the rankings (#25) for the second time in school history. Reigning MEC Coach Of The Year Lauren Macer summed up the upcoming week:

" This is a big week for us. We just need to stay focused, "Macer said."

That week begins with a matchup at West Virginia State tonight at 5:30 PM, and then NDC will host #12 Charleston at Murphy Gym on Saturday at 2 PM. Although no fans are permitted at this time you can catch all the action on NotreDameFalcons.com. As we always say, Fly Above!!!""






Jada Marone orchestrating the offense.

Theresa Parr gets in the lane for the floater.

The Davidson's!

Shay Davidson, and Julie Kemp!

Davidson, and Kemp clowning around!

The Kemp's!

164 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page