top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Historic Season For NDC Softball Marches On.

NDC softball has had one one of the most historic seasons in recent memory. The last time the Falcons won as many games as they have this season was back in 2009.

"We have a good mix of returners and newcomers in the lineup. I expected us to and we will continue to shock a lot of teams in our conference. We have dominating pitchers in the circle 'Sophomore pitcher Allison Weilnau went 15-12 with a 3.06 ERA in the regular season. Freshman Starting pitcher and second team All-MEC selection Grace Fisher went 10-12 and had a 3.16 ERA with a pair of saves in the regular season' for us this year that have turned some heads and a solid defense to back them up," Senior first baseman Emily Marsh stated."


Sophomore All-MEC First Team outfielder Emma Gumont talked about the lineup:

"The lineup is a good mix of returners and newcomers. I think we are solid from top to bottom and have a lot of range in our lineup. Our batters can go from taking hacks at the ball to placing a bunt down in the blink of an eye. Our lineup is very selfless and won't hesitate to sacrifice there at bat so that they can move a runner or help the team in the long run."

"The expectations for this team are extremely high as we look to win an MEC Championship, NDC graduate outfielder and All MEC Second Team selection Alexi Maciejowski stated. "We have a good amount of young talent this year that will make an impact right away with tons of returning players able to guide them. We look to turn a lot of heads as we have all season. We proved in the fall and on our annual Florida trip that we can not only hang but beat anyone. Individually, I want to contribute to the team in any way they need for us to be successful. Since this is my last year playing, I want to be able to soak in every moment and leave everything on the field every pitch."


I chose NDC because the coaches were very personable and gave off a very welcoming vibe, Gumont mentioned. "The recruiting process was a very rough time for me because it was the year when every school was not really recruiting since they were going to have their fifth years. My process was incredibly successful and was harder than most because of that situation. I started playing softball when was four or five years old.

My parents just put me in every sport there was to see which one stuck. I was very girly girl when I was little and even was in dance and gymnastics but ended up loving sports and what they brought to my life. I have met some of my best friends in softball."

Then the sophomore from Warren, Ohio talked about her Head Coach Kelsey Stopp:

Coach Stopp has had an enormous impact on me and the growth of my capabilities, specifically in the outfield. It is extremely helpful that she played in the outfield while also being a similar hitter as me as well. She has taught me many new things to better my skills in the outfield while also growing my knowledge of the game. Since she was in the game not that long ago, she brings a lot to the table especially because she played here and against the schools in our conference. She is so passionate about this school and this team which is super inspiring and good to be a part of."


Coaches Stopp, (Donald) Coleman, (Taylor) Olson, and (Christian) Verde, are unique because they all excel in different areas of the game. Coach Olson works with the pitchers, Coach Coleman with the catchers and infielders, Coach Stopp with the outfielders and Coach Verde does a little bit of it all," Marsh explained.


The senior from Toledo Start gave this thought:

"It's nice having a coach that was a player not too long ago because it allows her to be able to relate to us on a softball, academic, and personal level. She knows what it's like being a student-athlete in a season when you're swamped with homework, low on sleep, and have to be up early for practice the next day. It allows a sense of empathy as well as having a coach that knows what it feels like compared to one who never had to balance it all and who would assume what we have to do isn't hard at times."

Gumont agreed:

"What makes our coaching staff unique is the knowledge across the board that they all have. Each of them can work with infield, outfield, pitchers, and catchers which gives us as players so many different perspectives on coaching. Also, the amount of passion that they have for the game is unmatchable. They all put so much belief in us and push us to not only be the best players, but even better people when we leave. They treat every single player like they are family and are always willing to leave their door open to us if we ever need anything."


Gumont then highlighted a couple players that have made a big difference this season:

"Danielle (Fick) has been a huge addition to the team and has taken on a big role as the leadoff hitter in the lineup and playing shortstop. (She hit .306 in the regular season with 4 Home Runs (HR's) and 17 Runs Batted In (RBI) to go along with stealing 22 bases.) She is determined and highly competitive which are great skills to have in a teammate. Having someone like her in the lineup is encouraging and exciting. Meadow (Odum) is a highlight of the team in many ways. She brings a ton of energy and is highly motivated to win day in and day out. She is always encouraging her teammates and is a great friend. Lexi (Maciejowski)is always someone I can trust and count on in the field and in the lineup. She has so much knowledge, being a fifth year. She knows the conference better than anyone and brings a lot to the table with her softball knowledge overall."


Then she talked about the team:

"The best part of playing on this team would be building relationships with all the girls. I love softball because it gives you friendships like no other. You can help each other become the best version of themselves on and off the field and it is an incomparable experience."

Gumont continued:

"I have high expectations for myself and the team this year. I have been able to grow my knowledge of the game in many ways since last year and am ready to dominate. Although we are a young team, we have a lot of new talent this year and are having a great year."

Then she talked about trust:

"I feel very honored that my coaches have trusted me enough to put me in the field and lineup since I've been here. I have worked very hard to earn my position, but I wouldn't have been able to do that without my teammates pushing me to be the best I can be. I have such great teammates and I love playing with them."

She talked about playing both center and left field this year:

"I have only ever played center field before playing here at NDC and now that I have played left field, I have gained more knowledge of the game than ever before. I feel comfortable at either position and am willing to do whatever the team needs to be successful."


Marsh talked about the dynamic with the coaches:

"Since I've arrived on campus, I think the dynamic between the coaches and us has improved the most. When I was a freshman, it was only Coach Stopp's second season as a head coach. She was still trying to find her way and learn what works and what doesn't work for her and for us, and I think she does a great job of doing that. None of our current assistant coaches were here then, so with each addition there's a mutual 'getting to know' where we have to learn one another. I feel very comfortable going to any of my coaches and I feel like we have a solid relationship with one another that only continues to improve every year."

Marsh talked about a big change:

"The biggest change I've seen in the program since I've been here would have to be the chemistry of it all. The relationships between one another have grown tremendously. We always had chemistry, but when COVID hit it had a big impact on that chemistry because it was harder to do everything as a team. I think we've gotten to the point where we're back to how it was freshman year pre-COVID. The hardest part about being an athlete at the D2 level is having to balance it all while doing it in a healthy way. For example, you stay up all night doing homework and catching up, but when you're exhausted because you're running on little sleep, it takes a lot of planning, time management, and working with your professors, but it is completely possible and worth it."

Marsh talked about when she knew she wanted to play in college:

"I knew I wanted to play college softball as soon as I began playing fast pitch in sixth grade. I was always told it would be nearly impossible to play collegiately and be a pre-med major, so I took it on as a challenge to not only do both but excel in both. I fell in love with the sport and grew up in a big baseball family, so it was only natural that I got into softball. Softball has always been an escape for me with whatever craziness is happening in my life, and I want to hold onto that escape for as long as I can."


Gumont talked about how she got into the sport:

"I grew up playing all sports, soccer, softball, volleyball, and basketball. I played club soccer, AAU basketball, and travel softball. Throughout playing all these, softball was the one that I enjoyed the most. I loved my friends that I met through the game and that my travel team brought to me. After a while I decided to stick to only travel softball when I got to high school because it was too hard to balance more than one travel sport while still playing the other sports. I decided to play college softball probably when I was in middle school. I knew I wanted to play a sport but I did not know which one."


Maciejowski answered the same question:

" I knew that I wanted to play college softball ever since I started playing competitive softball. I loved spending our weekends at the fields, all the road trips, practices, and people I met through the sport. This was something I fell in love with right away and I knew I wanted to compete at the next level. As I got older and started watching the WCWS (Women's College World Series) I knew I wanted to be like all those girls. I could not be more thankful for all the opportunities I have gotten from playing here and wouldn't trade them for the world."

Then she talked about the toughest part of playing at the D2 level and being a student:

"The hardest part about being a college athlete at the D2 level is figuring out how to balance athletics and school work, and social life. Although at times this can be extremely hard, once you are able to find a healthy everyday. routine. This team is something I wouldn't trade for the world. It has been some of the busiest, but best years of my life that are so worth all the long days."

She talked about the athletic ability of Gumont:

"Emma is an extremely good athlete which allows her to be successful in any position she is put in. She is someone who plays extremely hard and is always competing. With that kind of drive, she will be successful in any position that she is put in. We have a lot of players that are able to be put in multiple positions which allows us the ability to try different combinations with our defense."

Then she talked about the best part of being on this squad:

"The best part of playing on this team at NDC has to be the competitive spirit that everyone has. We are all willing to do whatever it takes to win. We have started to come together as a family which will only bring us closer together. The memories and friendships are some of the best things that I have gotten from this team and there are still more to be made."

Then she gave this thought:

"Having a good mix of underclassmen and upperclassmen gives us the ability to turn a lot of heads this season. This allows us to bring new and old knowledge from different types of players helping create a good culture for the program. We have a good number of new players who many teams in our conference were not familiar with prior to this season along with some upperclassmen who are able to lead them and give give any advice needed."


Here are some numbers from this trio of Falcons in the regular season:

Gumont .339 batting average 6 HR 48 RBI

Maciejowoski .304 batting average 6 HR 27 RBI

Marsh .240 batting average 2 HR 18 RBI


The Notre Dame College Falcons (29-25 18-14 MEC) will enter the MEC Tournament as the two seed in the North and will take on the third seed in the South Davis & Elkins Senators (26-24 20-12 MEC). First pitch is set for Friday May 5th at Noon from Boutetort Sports Complex in Troutville, Virginia.











137 views0 comments

Yorumlar


bottom of page