top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Marone Tabbed All-American.

For the second consecutive year Notre Dame College Women's basketball has an All-American. After Seina Adachi won the award for the Falcons last season, Jada Marone was named All-American Honorable Mention by the WBCA (Women's Basketball Coaches Association.) A pair of other players from the MEC, Zaikyah Winfield (Glenville State-) and- Brooklyn Pannell (University of Charleston) were also named All-Americans.

Marone talked about the honor:

" I am grateful. I appreciate the honor. If I didn't have my teammates, my coaches or the NDC community behind me, I couldn't have done it without them." Marone said.

Marone continued:

" Everyone who supports me has high expectations on and off the floor. I put in the extra work which helps gain their trust too. Everyone believing in me gives me no doubt in my capabilities. I will continue to push to go that much harder. I will push in the classroom to be a better student. I will push myself on the floor to be a great teammate. I'm going to be a better version of myself for this program."

Marone, a junior from Berea-Midpark appeared in all 18 games for the Falcons in 2021. She poured in 20.8 points a game to lead the team in scoring. Her 3.8 steals per game tied for the second best number in school history. The 3.8 steals per game led all of DII. Her 68 steals, were fourth in the country, while she was also top 20 in the country in both free throws, and points per game. She led the Falcons to a MEC North best 14 wins during this shortened campaign. These were the thoughts of her coach Lauren Macer about the honor:

" This is a great award. Jada's hard work allowed her to earn this recognition. Jada is a competitor, and each season she elevates her game. It is an honor to coach her, "Macer explained.

Marone was the first player in the NDC DII era to record a triple-double, as on 1.30 against Davis& Elkins she had 16 points- 10 assists- and- 10 steals in the contest. In the season finale against Glenville State Marone joined the 1,000 point club. Marone also was named All-MEC First Team- and- MEC All-Tournament team this year.

Marone finished with this quote:

" With the accomplishment that i've had this season, there is no way I could've done everything I did without the backbone of support that I have from everyone around me. I am more than grateful for this honor."




17 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page