top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Men Up Front Leading The Charge For Falcons Football

There is an old adage in football that says " it all starts up front." That refers to the lineman on a football team creating space on the field. Never has that statement been more true than for NDC, as they prepare to host the MEC Championship game against the University of Charleston. NDC has played just four games this pandemic shortened season, UC just three.


When the celebrated offensive lineman of NDC football talk about their fellow lineman words like brothers, have each others backs, togetherness, dedication, determination, and hard work keep popping up. Mike Kyle, Jimmy Burchett, Nick Beans, Adam Riegler, and Brandon Nicholson work as a determined, focused unit. Ask any member of the line and they will sing the praises of their fellow lineman. They talk about their work ethic in practice as being of paramount importance too. And the coaches... well, they have nothing but admiration for them. They are a unit on and off the field. Here is a brief look at each of these fellows that make up arguably the best offensive line in Division 2.



Right Tackle Mike Kyle:


It all starts for NDC with six-foot-five 330 pound Mike Kyle. The senior from Columbus was five years old when he started playing football for the Columbus Day Stars. Kyle then went on to play high school football at Columbus Northland High School. He told me he was having a great time at Northland, maybe too much fun, but then one day life changed.


Coach helped me get my grades together, and got me on the right path. "The biggest thing I was beginning to understand was to never settle, always strive for my dreams,"Kyle said.

Then just when things were starting to turn around for Kyle, a speed bump came. "The first scrimmage of my senior year I ruptured my ACL, tore my MCL, and PCL. There was a time where they didn't think I would ever play football again, but I made it happen, "Kyle explained.


Coming out of high school Kyle had many offers, but one definitely stuck out.

"Coach (Mike) Jacobs stuck with me through my surgery, and actually cared about me. That made the decision pretty easy,"Kyle said. He then told me how, in his opinion, the current coaching staff is unique because they demand the best out of the team at all times. "Even if sometimes we don't like what they are saying they make sure we are giving our all, "Kyle stated.


Brandon Nicholson met Kyle in 2016, his freshman year. He explained that Kyle is easily one of the funnier people that he has ever met, and was someone that he watched on the field because he is considered a really good football player.


Kyle has started all four games this season at right tackle. He started all 14 games last season as well. He did not play in 2018, started 11 games in 2017, played 7 games in 2016, and redshirted in 2015. Kyle talked about how the teams mindset has not changed this season:

"Honestly with everything going on in the world right now we play every game like it's the championship, because you never know when it could be your last because of Covid."

Kyle, and the rest of this NDC group blocked for a total of 1908 yards (477 yards per game) rushing. Thru the air NDC had 677 yards and seven touchdowns with Kyle at tackle. NDC has scored 29 total touchdowns this season, and Kyle was a key blocker for this team that averaged 54.75 points per game.



Right Guard Jimmy Burchett:


Jimmy Burchett is a six-foot-four 320 pound senior from Alliance,OH. Burchett attended St.Thomas Aquinas High School. He was six years old when he started playing football for the Marlington Little Dukes.


Burchett talked about his early years in sports:

"My childhood was filled with sporting events, and competition with my friends, and family. My best memory was when I was a freshman I started, and got to play next to my brother his senior year. Losing in the playoffs and knowing that was the last time I could play football with him was tough, "Burchett mentioned.


Burchett talked about how he and Riegler hit it off right away:

"Adam came up to me my freshman year, and told me were going to do big things at this school, and would be great friends. Three years later we live in a house together off campus."


Burchett talked about where his confidence came from:

"Mike Kyle and Austin (former O-lineman Austin Treneff) helped me gain the confidence I have today. I am fortunate to still play next to one of them. They were both important to me my freshman year, and still are to this day.

Besides the fact that this group has been playing together so long, we just connect with each other. We know we all have each others backs, and that makes it easier to play on game days next to them, "Burchett concluded.


Burchett started all four games this season, and 14 last season. He was a D2 CAA All-American, and All-Super Region First Team, as well as being First Team All-MEC, and being on the commissioner's honor roll (GPA between 3.25 and 3.69) last season. In 2017, he played in eight games.


When asked about the hardest part of the pandemic, Burchett told me it was not being able to play the sport he loves with his brothers. As for the most difficult, he spoke of not spending as much time with his family. As for his biggest improvement since arriving, Burchett says it's time management. When asked if there is a player whose game he models his game after Burchett went with Quenton Nelson of the Indianapolis Colts. As for the strong suit of the coaching staff: they love to show up to work everyday. The energy they bring helps us to stay motivated to practice hard.


Burchett talked about trust, and how not much changed for him with the new Head Coach:

" This staff gives us a lot more freedom to express ourselves, and an overall trust factor to be able to get it together. The coaches have done a great job of making this feel like a normal season. I believe you should take more pride in practice than you do in a game, and so do they. It's easy to show up, and give great efforts on game days when people are watching, it''s more difficult to do this day in and day out when nobody is watching."


He continued about Coach Mental, and what he brings:

"Coach Mental has always been one of my favorite coaches and when he became the Head Coach it didn''t change much for me. I knew he had a great understanding of how and why we were successful and I believe he's done a great job of adding his own ideas and keeping our traditions."


Burchett told me the biggest lesson he has learned from the coaches, and staff at NDC is not to be afraid to ask questions. If you want something, then go earn it. Nothing in life worth having is given for free. He told me the key to another MEC Championship is to take the same hard work, and dedication that has gotten them there in the past. He believes in the team.



Center Nick Beans



Beans is a six-foot-four 310 pound sophomore from Akron who went to Manchester High School. He was in third grade playing for the Madison Cowboys when he started playing organized football. Then things changed a bit. After that season Beans exceeded the 150 pound weight limit for the league, so he was not able to play. He moved to Manchester, and continued from fifth grade on. After third grade Beans told me he was ready to give up on football, and focus on basketball. However his grandpa made it clear that he was meant to play football, and because of his advice, Beans continued to play. " I want to make him proud and hopefully get to a high level so he can have his validation," Beans said. After that Beans said it was relatively simple. NDC was easily the best of the three offers that he received, "Jacobs and Mental definitely made it comfortable, and an easy decision. I wouldn't change it for anything,"Beans told me.


Beans played basketball, and football all four years of high school. He explained the high school experience:

" It was decent. The school revolved around sports, with football being a staple. James R.France was my coach at Manchester, and has been the Head Coach since 1971. My señior season he broke the OHSAA wins record. The biggest thing that I learned there was never to be satisfied. There will always be more out there if you continue to want it. This was one of many lessons I learned with him as my coach for four years, "Beans explained.


Burchett talked about Beans:

" When I was a freshman Beans was the recruit that I hosted for an overnight visit. We clicked the first time we ever talked. He's like a little brother to me, and I try to help/guide him in anyway possible on and off the field."




Left Guard Adam Riegler


Riegler is a six-foot-three 295 pound junior from Cuyahoga Falls who went to Cuyahoga Falls High School. He was seven years old when he started playing football. Like a lot of kids his childhood was devoted to lots of sports all year round. Football definitely got his attention. He did not have the easiest childhood because of the divorce of his parents and a tragic death in the community. He explained:

" I had some tough moments as many kids do in my childhood. My parents divorced when I was very young, then in the eighth grade the tragic loss of my long time running back, and friend Alex Harr really took a number on me and the whole city of Cuyahoga Falls. My mom, Aimee Buckeye is a former restaurant owner. She is now a nurse at one of the Cleveland Clinic locations in Northeastern Ohio. One trait I definitely got from her is compassion, and determination. My father, Terry Riegler, is a head manager in the kitchen at a retirement home in Green, OH. One trait I picked up from him is grit.


My high school experience in sports was a struggle to say the least,"Riegler explained. "But it was a great experience with great people I was blessed to meet. CFHS will always be my home and i'll always have a fire in me trying to represent kids growing up in Cuyahoga Falls. I want them to know that it's possible to make a name for yourself, but it takes a lot of hard work, and determination. Coming out of middle school all I wanted to do was be the class that changed the culture of CFHS football. The class that broke through and showed other classes the way. I made my first start junior year, we went 0-10. Obviously that was irritating. My señior year we went 1-9 which was a very tough pill to swallow, and honestly was just depressing after all the hard work we put in. I really felt like I left a lot on the field, and that's the worst feeling to have. Not winning bothered me to the core. I wanted to experience a winning culture, "Reigler said.


Riegler explained his choice to come to NDC:


" I was called down during one of my classes in high school to meet who was the D-line coach at the time and we just chatted a bit about football, where I saw myself in a couple years, then I was asked to come visit. When I left my visit I knew this is where I wanted to be. Anthony Soto (O-line coach at the time) gave me motivation every time I talked to him. I really wanted an O-line coach who I could connect with, and always tried to put me in the best situation to succeed. So then I committed to NDC."


He then continued about how special this O-line group is:

"Besides all of the accolades we have, and the starts in the regular and postseason games, I would say it's not just on the field with us. The minute we step off the field we all have each others backs. It is a chemistry that is truly rare for a group of lineman. We all know how important each one of us is. We make sure we are always thinking positive, ready for the next challenge, or any other way we can prove people wrong. Showing that we truly are the best O-line in D2.


The hardest part of the pandemic for Riegler was watching other teams play wondering why we couldn't play. "It was a weird feeling all fall, but extremely motivating, "he said.


Then he talked about the biggest growth since arriving in South Euclid:

"Since my freshman year it has been like night and day. Jost how I thought about and approached this game and just mental toughness as a whole for me. I knew to thrive at NDC I had to get mentally tougher, and that is what I have done."


As for who he models his game after, it is a familiar name:

"Growing up as a Browns fan even though I haven't played tackles since high school, Joe Thomas was always someone I admired, and watched. His ironman streak is one for the ages. The best ability is availability."


On what he has learned at NDC, Riegler explained: "I have learned that tomorrow is never promised no matter who you are. Hard work and passion can take you anywhere in life. As a group, Reigler said, this O-lines minds are almost always on the game. Talking to each other, critiquing, and always trying to help one another to make this group great.


As for what the biggest change is having a season in the spring instead of the fall, Riegler said this:

"The weather is crazy. One day it's freezing, and the next its 60 and sunny. Besides that nothing crazy."


As for the changed season affecting next fall, Riegler did not think it will. We are just happy to be back on the field. We are football players, and whenever we can't play the game we love it hurts, I don't think it will affect the turnaround to next fall. We just wanted to keep competing and are excited to have a chance for another MEC Championship. And then make another major run in the playoffs (whenever that is the case again.) We just have to stay together as a team, and keep putting in the work like we have. Consistency is the key to a 3-peat.


Left tackle Brandon Nicholson:



Nicholson is a six-foot-four 305 pound senior from Bedford who went to Bedford High School. He started all four games this season. Started all 14 last year, 11 his freshman year. In 2016 he redshirted.


He was also seven years old when he started playing organized football. His answer was similar to a previous one about who he models his game after:

" I am a huge Browns fan, always was a fan of the way Joe Thomas plays the game."

As for the recruiting process to choose NDC:

" It was simple. NDC was one of the only schools to give me a chance to play at the collegiate level. I enjoy the atmosphere, and the coaches make me feel welcome in the recruiting process.


He talked about how fun this group has been to grow with:

" It has been fun growing with this group, especially being considered one of the older guys on the team. Watching the growth of the program and players over the past four years is tremendous. Not just on the field, but off the field as well. We have a lot of respectable young men on this football team."


Burchett talked about his relationship with Nicholson:

" B-Nick is like a brother to me, and it has been that way since the day we met. We first became friends by working out together, and I helped him with his diet in the cafeteria (Nicholson has lost 60+ pounds since arriving.) Three- four years later, and he is one of my best friends. We use each other's knowledge of the game to help better ourselves."


He talked about how special this O-line group is:

"This group is probably the closest group on the team. If you see one of us, there are at least 3-4 more of us near, or close by. It has to be that way because there are five of us playing on the field, but we have to play as one to get the job done."


As for the hardest part of playing during a pandemic Nicholson said it's just getting used to all the changes. Playing football every year since I was seven to not playing for a year and a half was a little challenging. It made me appreciate football more than I already did. You can't take anything for granted because it can be gone just as quickly as it was here.


NDC will be ready to go tomorrow (Saturday April 17th) for the 1:05 PM kickoff, and the first ever MEC Championship Game. Here are the thoughts of Coach Mental prior to the game at Mueller Field:

" I commend our players for taking the challenge of a short season. Our coaching staff on both sides of the ball, and special teams have consistently hit on all phases. We have one big one left, and obviously we are going to put our best foot forward on Saturday."
















224 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page