top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Murphy Takes The Reins For NDC, With A Familiar Target, CJ Kiss, And A New Weapon, James Faulkner.

For the first time since the 2017 season someone other than Chris Brimm is the starting quarterback for Notre Dame College football. NDC has turned to Columbus, Ohio native and redshirt junior Isaiah Murphy. The Walnut Ridge product talked about the recruiting process:

"NDC found me, I didn't know much about them until the defensive coordinator at the time Jahmal Brown who is now at Youngtown State told me that they were going to be holding a camp in my hometown (Columbus,Ohio.) I attended the camp and they gave me an offer during my senior football season," Murphy explained. "Then a couple months later NDC went to the Final Four in 2018, so that instantly made me want to go there and play in big football games. I took my official visit and instantly knew I wanted to be a part of the NDC brotherhood. My decision was between NDC or Ashland but ultimately I felt more at home at NDC."


Murphy talked about the transition from being the backup quarterback to starting this season:

"For two years I took practice reps and last year I got a lot of game experience, especially in the playoff game against Ashland. These reps have just helped me understand the game better and allowed the game to slow down a lot more for me this year and now I'm able to just play free."

Then the quarterback elaborated a little bit:

"The biggest challenge for me was understanding that anything worth having doesn't come easy. I had to grow and become a better person on and off the field. Having a couple years to learn and grow made me understand the importance of the being the starting QB for an elite DII program. It truly feels great to know I worked for everything and I wasn't given anything."

Then he talked what he learned his redshirt season:

"My redshirt season was great in more ways than I would've thought. I was still able to travel and experience some of the big time games we played in that year. I also got to learn firsthand from Chris Brimm. While doing this I was playing scout team QB against our starting defense and they made me grow so much as a football player and a person."

Then he had this to say:

"I started playing organized football when I was six years old. I'm glad I had the experience to learn from Chris Brimm. He always was a great teammate to me and showed me the way to be a great player on the field and also a great person around the community. He actually texted me before camp started and he's truly someone I can call a friend off the field as well."

As for being the starter:

"I won't change anything being the starter. I always have prepared like I was the starter because as the backup you're always one play from being thrown in there. Like what happened to me in the Ashland game."

Then Murphy talked about practice and his game day routine:

"In practices during game week we work on game plan stuff and different situations like two minute, and team tempo. My game day routine is I like to eat a light breakfast like fruit then I always have to shower right before I get ready. The feeling of a shower before the game is unmatched. After that I'll get dressed then do a little throwing routine with my receivers."

Teammate and tight end CJ Kiss talked about his first impression of Murphy:

"Isaiah is someone who plays free and not is afraid of the moment."

Then tight end James Faulkner said this about Murphy:

"When I first met Isaiah I was impressed how he led by example. It was easy to see how dedicated he was to his craft and how hard he worked. As a teammate he has always been a spark in the room because he always makes people laugh and makes them feel better if they are down. What makes Isaiah such a great teammate is his leadership and secondly he is a very realistic understanding individual. He is always willing to work and help younger players so that they understand their role on the team."


Kiss talked when he and Murphy arrived:

"Isaiah and I both came to NDC in 2019 and have gotten to know each other better every year. It's been fun to work with him over the years as we have built something special."

Then Kiss talked about playing with the team this year:

"It is going be a lot of fun playing with this team this year. Playing with Isaiah as the starter is something we have been looking forward to for a while now. We are going to take it week by week to be the best we can be as a team."

He told me this about the previous and current NDC quarterbacks:

"Isaiah and Chris are both incredible quarterbacks and I have been lucky to play with both of them. The biggest difference this year is that we have built a connection on and off the field over the years at NDC."

"Coach Mack is more of a defensive guy. He lets Coach Buckley and Coach Robertson handle the offense for the most part," Murphy mentioned.

Then he talked about who he has always admired and models his game after:

"There is not one in particular but the quarterbacks that I study the most are: Joe Burrow, Aaron Rodgers, DeShaun Watson, Josh Allen, and Warren Moon."

Then talked about the NDC team this year:

"Our team this year is going to be a lot of new faces to some. Everybody in the building knows what we have. We have a lot of talent in all three phases of the game. I'm excited for us to put it all together and prove ourselves right. This is one of the closest teams I've been on since I've been here at NDC. We all have great relationships on and off the field. These guys are truly my best friends for life."

He then talked about being under the tutelage of Coach Buckley:

"Coach Buckley came last fall and he brought a lot of new and fresh ideas to our offense. He's been great to learn from. I like how innovative he is, he's always looking to improve and call plays to his players strengths. He feels like he's tailored our offense this year to my strengths and the fact we have a lot of talent at the skill positions. He also gives me a lot of freedom to make decisions on the field about getting us in the right plays which I like. As time goes on our connection will only get stronger."

Faulkner talked about what he learned from his teachers and coaches at NDC:

"One thing I learned from my teachers and coaches at NDC is how to be organized and consistent. While focusing on both of these things it will take me anywhere I want to go."

Faulkner gave his thoughts on practice:

"Practice is always fun because I get to go out and compete with some of my closest friends. The chemistry with Isaiah has always been great because because it has always been about football. We spend time together outside of football so I understand what matters to Isaiah personally so it makes it easier when we are on the football field."

Then Faulkner talked about what he is looking forward to this season:

"I am looking forward to seeing what our hard work over the spring and summer will bring this season. I hope our connection will carry over into the football games. Coming into a program like NDC can be a challenge because the expectations are to win. I try not to focus on that though because I know the best version of myself will help NDC football win and with Isaiah as my QB I know we are in the best position to win a lot of games."

Faulkner then talked a little about perception:

"As a tight end you have the second hardest job on the offense because you must catch like a wide receiver, run like a running back, block like an offensive linemen, and know everything the QB knows. Understanding my role on each play necessary because I always want to be available for my QB. If Isaiah can always count on me being in the right spot and having his back, it will give him even more confidence when he is back there controlling the game."

Kiss talked similarly:

"Blocking is undervalued as a tight end. A lot of people don't understand how important it really is. When a receiving tight end is an elite blocker it puts the defense in a tough spot personnel wise."

Faulkner talked about the defense of the conference title:

"Knowing that we are going for the sixth straight conference championship we try not to talk about it too much because that is the standard for NDC football. We are focusing on the present and not trying to look too far ahead and focus on the now because we know that that's the only thing we can control. We are going to focus on the best version of NDC football day in and day out, and that will get us the sixth straight conference championship plus more."

Kiss agreed:

"I'm looking forward to playing with a team that is hungry since we feel like we really underachieved last year."

Kiss talked about the coaches:

"These coaches are good for this group because we all care about each other like family. Teams that care about one another on and off the field are the ones that will be the most successful. The biggest thing is that it doesn't matter as much about who has the best facilities, what matters the most are the people around you."

Then Murphy gave the final thought:

"I don't really look at it as pressure, it's just football at the end of the day. I trust the work that me and my teammates have been putting in for years. I've been working for this moment for years, so now it's about putting that product on the field. Taking over this team has been fun and a new challenge. It's been great taking on a leadership role and being a guy that young guys can look up to and follow."


The Notre Dame College Falcons (2-1 1-1 MEC) will be back at home on Saturday when they take on the Fairmont State Fighting Falcons (2-1 1-1 MEC.) Kickoff for the Falcon Bowl is set for 12 PM from Mueller Field.















43 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page