top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

NDCWBB Left Out Of Tournament Field.

After an 88-69 semifinal loss to Glenville State in the MEC Semifinals at WesBanco Arena in Wheeling,West Virginia on Saturday these were the thoughts of junior guard Jada Marone who scored 25 points to go over 1,000 in her career:

" Took a tough loss in the Semifinals. Didn't go as planned, but I was able to get my 1,000th point in 2.5 years. I am grateful to say I earned a great milestone. Wouldn't have gotten it without my teammates, thank you and love you all #GoFalcons,"Marone posted on her social media page.

Marone who was selected to the All-Tournament team continued:

" Great milestone to hit. I've been here for two and a half years under a great staff, and great ball players who push me everyday. If I got it today (Saturday) great, if not I have next year. I just wanted to win, unfortunately we didn't get the win. This is a great group of girls. I just hope we make NCAA (qualify for the tournament.)

Marone sits first in program history averaging 20.8 points per game in a single season, and is also in the top 10 in school history in steals per game for a season.

Coach Lauren Macer reflected on the season in her post-game interview Saturday:

" I am proud of these girls to get through a season like this. We had no COVID issues on our end. It takes a certain level of determination and commitment for that to happen. We just hope we can continue playing, Macer explained.

The Falcons learned on Sunday evening that they did not qualify for the Atlantic Region. A pair of MEC teams who played for the conference title Sunday did. Charleston (WV) was both the regular season, and MEC tournament champion after the 87-80 win on Sunday. Glenville State earned the number two seed. They were joined in the region by third seeded Kentucky Wesleyan, fourth seed Cedarville, Walsh came in as the fifth seed, and Tiffin rounded out the field region as the sixth seed.

Atlantic Region Games to be played March 13th-16th in Columbus,OH hosted by Ohio Dominican University:

  1. Charleston (17-2)

  2. (4) Cedarville (19-5) vs (5) Walsh (16-6)

  3. (2) Glenville State

  4. (3) Kentucky Wesleyan (18-5) vs (6) Tiffin (16-8)

Semifinals: Sunday

Finals: Tuesday


8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page