top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Painting Pictures With Words

Little Knows...Bunner Believes


Eric Little and Jake Bunner have been the radio/video voices of Notre Dame College football since 2017.


Little talked about how he got his start and a mutual connection:

"My relationship with NDC goes all the way back to a previous Sports Information Director, Andy "Bull" Barch, who is also a friend and role model of Jake's, "Little explained. "He worked in the same league as I did when we were both in minor league baseball. We built a good relationship before he moved back home (Cleveland) to become Sports Information Director (SID) at Notre Dame College which was just launching its football program. When I left minor league baseball and moved back home to West Virginia in September 2012, "Bull" needed a color guy for a couple games and asked if I'd be interested. Eventually it grew to where I was basically doing all the road games. I said yes, and Athletic Director Scott Swain approved, and I became the full time play by play guy starting in the 2017 season."


Bunner talked about how he got his start:

"The opportunity to be on the football broadcast came up pretty early in my time as a full time employee of the college," Bunner mentioned. I was unfamiliar with the radio broadcast side of things and I knew I wanted someone with experience like Eric to lead the way. I'm grateful he agreed to do it. We met at Shepherd University for the 2107 opener and I'm sure I looked like a mess the first encounter. I had to bring all the radio equipment with me and learn how to set it up on the fly with wires and phone lines. Eric was a huge help, getting everything set up and connected with the station. I wasn't the easiest day. I was learning how to set everything up, how to call into the station (ESPN Cleveland 1540.) I also had to find out where we would set up in the press box because the ESPN broadcasters were also there with ESPN 3 carrying the game. I was a bit intimidated by the importance of the game and the job, but it was an incredible game. NDC lost 54-49, but that was the start of a magical run."


Little talked about that Shepherd game:

"The game was nationally televised, so there was some hype. I walked into the booth and we met there and we did the game. There was a lot of hype over the game because Shepherd was the established MEC power and NDC was a rising threat. NDC trailed much of the game, and kept it close, but eventually lost. The Falcons would get theirs the next year, I think the both of us were very much still getting to know each other, but quickly found a solid flow. I could tell the next 10 weeks were going to be fun, but I was surprised at how quickly they flew by."


Bunner told me that the earliest he can remember wanting to be a broadcaster was in the fourth grade. He got the new NBA live video game every year and in fourth grade he turned down the broadcasters on the game and did his own play by play. If that isn't a broadcaster in the making I don't know what is?


Bunner talked about his broadcast beginnings:

"I was pretty shy throughout junior high and high school so I never tried to get experience behind the microphone, but once I got to college, I pushed myself to get behind the microphone for public address work and then color and play by play for basketball games. Working with Andy Barch at NDC and with the Lake Erie Crushers for two summers helped me out tremendously. This profession is all about reps and during a baseball season, you are going at it everyday, seeing new things and learning how to call certain actions on the field."

He also spoke about how nice it is to be back at NDC being a graduate of the school:

"It's incredibly special for me to be back at NDC and being able to call MEC Football Championships and NCAA DII Playoff Games. Since 2017, I've been able to broadcast every regular season game and most of the playoff games. I've seen the program take major leaps and become a national title contender. I remember as a student-watching the first football game played on campus in 2013."


Little also does the broadcasts for Parkersburg South High School in West Virginia, so travel has been a part of it all for Little and this is what he said about that:

"Without question, the toughest part is when both games are far apart. That's created some situations where where I've traveled through the night and done the NDC game on a few hours sleep. There have been a few times, especially in the first couple years, where I wasn't at my sharpest on the NDC call and the listener/viewer could probably tell. "I've been working on taking better care of myself to prevent these situations. As a result, I don't plan too much on Sunday because the day is largely for recovery and rest. The easiest part is when I show up at Mueller Field and see everyone again. Jake, the entire press box crew, and the NDC athletic administrations have become friendly faces and I enjoy our time together. It sounds cliche, but it really is the people that make it worthwhile."


Bunner talked about some of the challenges:

"I think especially at the DII small school level, you have to be willing to learn everything, I enjoy it all. The challenges of PA, scoreboard, broadcasting, and sports information. Once you do it all a bunch of times, you become comfortable with it, and you don't have as many stressful situations.

He continued about the change for him:

"The biggest change is probably the responsibilities and the decision making. In the fall, as the SID and main communication contact for football, I have to make sure notes and stories get done throughout the week and sent out to the media. I try to keep some time dedicated to preparing for the broadcast."


Little gave his thoughts on Bunner:

"Jake is someone I truly enjoy spending time with. He's such a genuine person, and I appreciate authenticity in people. It's been fun to watch his career evolution, because he works so hard and tries hard at his job. People notice his effort. But our relationship has always been open and honest because he's someone that's easy to be open and honest with. He's non judgmental and just a very chill person, the latter of which helps because I'm not always a chill person when in the heat of the broadcast or some technical issues that's threatening a broadcast."


Bunner told me that he and Little talk a lot throughout the season and after the season. They are both big baseball fans and Nascar fans, so they check in with each other from time to time in the summer and talk about that. Bunner told me this about Little:

"I have respect for him and how much work he puts into his main radio job in the morning, the high school football podcast, and the broadcasts he does down in West Virginia. He still manages to have time to study for NDC games and put on a great product! I have learned a lot from him."


Little talked about a change as he gets older:

"I could tell that Jake was a few years younger than I was (10 to be exact.) Most of my broadcast partners had either been older than I was or within a couple years of my age, so for me it marked a change in where I was career-wise. I was now the older brother type, whereas I'd previously been more of a little brother in our crew, or just the leader because I was the play by play guy. I could quickly tell Jake was brimming with enthusiasm and positivity, which is needed in the broadcast booth. So many things can (and do) go wrong that it's nice to have the support from him, but he definitely lifts me up on days when I'm not at my best. I could tell that the partnership was going to be solid from start."

Little then talked about trust:

"It's nice to have that trust in someone. When your partner won't look down on you for not being your best. I'm up front when something is wrong. I level with him. And we do our best to get through the situation. I try to keep my eyes open for when he's being pulled in different directions, and I try to fill the gaps or help him as best I can. For instance there was an instance our second year when we were at Urbana. I had a bye week in my high school season, so my then girlfriend and I stayed in Columbus the night before and were planning to drive up on GameDay. However, I woke up with a nasty case of food poisoning from dinner the night before the game. It was so bad, my then girlfriend actually had to drive us to Urbana because I was too ill. I got there, told Jake the situation, we got through pregame and I felt better by the end of the first quarter. He didn't judge and was as helpful and positive as he could be in a bad spot.

Another example: I actually choked on a chicken tender during a break in our post game show last year at Glenville. After a few extra spots on the air, I had Jake read scores while I tried to clear my windpipes. He had to be concerned about watching me literally choke, but he kept the show going until I could finish the broadcast. The listener was none the wiser. Jake's a total pro and always had his head on a swivel. The moral to the story? I need to stay away from food."



Bunner talked about meeting with Little:

"I knew in our first meeting that he had a ton of patience and would always maintain professionalism, no matter the situation. He understands that often times, things aren't going to be smooth. Most of the time we don't have people testing outlets and lines before we arrive or setting up the equipment for us. We have a great time on air because its genuine, I knew that he would be a great person to work with and learn from, but I didn't know that we would work so long together and become better friends like we are today."


Bunner told me it's great to have Eric next to him every week. "He's the ultimate professional, and, although he has to do a lot of travelling throughout the fall, he always brings his best. He jumped in the booth as our play by play man for the 2017 season and has been up there ever since. As the color commentator, I just try to help the broadcast and he leads the way. And off the microphone, we talk about life and what we have going on. He's always been willing to help me with anything I need as far as broadcasting or sports info."


Bunner told me that both he and Little are extremely busy in the fall with all the they do, so there are some Saturday's throughout a long 11 week season (plus playoffs) that they need some help to get going. "Eric doesn't need that too often, but I try my best to help him out by talking more and filling in the gaps if I know he had a high school game go late the night before or if he traveled a long way. There are certainly Saturday's where I'm worried about stats or getting pulled off the broadcasts for a few minutes and he picks me up."


Bunner told me broadcasts with Little are fun:

"Eric really isn't different off the microphone. That's what makes the broadcasts so fun, he's genuine and brings his knowledge and sense of humor."


Little talked about how different the preparation is for each of his broadcasts:

"In high school, I'm often digging for basic info about players/teams. Colleges tend to have much better infrastructure in place for distributing necessary information ahead of a broadcast. But I approach every broadcast the same. Each time out, I'm trying to call that game like it's the most important thing on my radar, because at that very moment, it is."


Little told me when he knew he wanted to get into this field:

"I knew I wanted to be in some form of media from an early age, but gravitated toward play by play in high school. I was the public address announcer for my high school football team by the time I was 15. After my first time behind a mic, I was hooked. I'm a Pirates fan, so I've always been a fan of their guys over the years. Who isn't a Vin Scully fan? I think we've all tried our hardest to be like him. I really enjoyed how thorough, solid, and entertaining guys like Ian Eagle and Kevin Harlan are. I like Terry Gannon's versatility and how strong of a broadcaster he is on whatever event he's working."


Bunner is a local Clevelander and talks about who he admires as broadcasters:

"Growing up in Cleveland I've always admired the great play by play broadcasters. I listened to a lot of Joe Tait, Tom Hamilton, and Fred Mcleod. I always loved listening to how smooth the broadcast is and how easily they made it sound, with energy and passion. I love the radio because you can paint the picture with words."


Bunner talked about the best part of doing what he does:

"The best moments are the championship clinching games. We follow the team all season. I ride the team bus. To see the passion and happiness of a big win or clinching an MEC Championship means so much. One regular season broadcast that sticks out was a Thursday night game at Fairmont State in 2018. It was a close game, NDC won 24-21, but we had a storm in the area that delayed the game and made the trip even longer. Eric and I were on top of the press box for that one with a tent and we hung out there during an extended pregame show as the rain dumped down. We were covered and stayed pretty dry but had to speak up at times when the rain picked up. We powered through!"


Little told me about some excitement he had when working in minor league baseball:

"When I was in minor league baseball, I got to do rehab starts from Tom Glavine, John Smoltz, and Chipper Jones. I did a game there where a pitcher took a perfect game into the ninth inning, and that's all a thrill unlike anything I've ever had. I did my first Division I men's basketball game the day after Thanksgiving last year and that was a rush unlike anything I've ever felt. Playoff games are always special, whether at the high school or college level, and as a result, I've almost had to pinch myself on the walk to the car or the bus because I can't believe I'm lucky enough to get to do what I do."


Little talked about NDC QB Chris Brimm coming back for his fifth season and what it has been like being able to call all his games on this run:

"If I've learned one thing about Chris Brimm while doing his games, it's never to doubt Chris Brimm's ability to do literally anything he wants. He's a proven winner and with him back at the helm, big things are within reach. NDC is also getting a reputation for a school that attracts good talent on both sides of the ball. They've created a winning culture. Guys come to NDC with the knowledge that they're going to win some football games and have some fun doing it. It's made the program an exceptionally fun one to watch in the last several years. I'm just lucky to have had a front row seat to the rocket launch."


Bunner talked about this year's squad:

"This team is hungry every year. It's impressive to have that fight and desire to capture the conference when you've done it four times in a row, but they go out there and fight every week. I expect the same this season as Garrett Mack leads the way as Head Coach. This team still has plenty of veterans who have won over and over and over and over and will want to keep with tradition."


Bunner continued about the team culture:

"We've been blessed to have great players and coaches who make this job so much fun. When you know those guys and they are great people with interesting stories about backgrounds, it makes the job that much better. There are so many people behind the scenes who are doing so much to make these things happen at home and on the road. People running around the press box, keeping everything straight on the field. Without them, the games wouldn't happen. Those are the people who you meet and thank as they work hard for us."


Little then talked about the common love we all have:

"Everyone working in sports has one common love...Sports! I've met some of my favorite people in sports. Hard-working people with some of the best hearts you can find. People that are goal oriented and driven, but also people that know while sports is important, it isn't life or death. It is important to have a good time because while working in sports is hard and comes with many demands, the rewards are also very, very sweet."


Little gave the final thoughts:

"Jake and I have developed some inside jokes and running jokes, and to me that's always a sign of good chemistry. I know he won't talk over a big moment, so that's a comfort. He knows when I need the mic to call a big play in a game. There are times where I could do better to draw him out a little more but then I also know when a game is tense that he's going to be nervous or interested, so I try not to ask too much during those moments. That's what five seasons together will do. You get to know where you can lean on the other person and you know when they might need you to pick them up."


18th ranked NDC football (3-1 3-0 MEC) will be in action tomorrow (Saturday) when they take on the University of Charleston (2-2 2-1 MEC) in what will represent homecoming for NDC. Kick Off at Mueller Field is set for 12 PM.








61 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page