top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Supporting One Another, And Putting The Student In Student Athlete,

With Madison Luckett and her NDC Women's soccer co-captains.


NDC Women's soccer is a supportive group. Here is what five foot three senior midfielder Madison Luckett (Warren, Ohio) had to say about that:

"The support my team has for one another is something I don't take for granted. We always know when someone is playing an awesome game, or when someone is struggling. When someone is putting in work, we're constantly cheering for one another. If we can tell someone is down, we're right there to pick them up. Over the last three years, we were also pushing each other to be the best student-athletes in the classroom. Our team in the past has been known to have a great GPA. We're always doing homework when traveling, and making sure we're never missing classes."


Senior goalkeeper Jordan Pasalaqua talked about her teammate, Luckett:

"Having Luckett as a teammate is one of the most honorable feelings to have because of how skilled of a player she is. She is the one to not quit on anything and is always pushing through whatever pain is thrown her way. She is the definition of a team player. Although we did not meet before NDC, I am honored to have met her. She is a constant in my life now and I am thrilled to be beside her on the soccer field as well."


Senior defender Drew Barr gave her thoughts about Luckett:

"What sticks out to me about Madi is her work ethic. She makes me want to work harder and she also makes me feel comfortable as a defender. She is a part of our midfield and used to be a part of our defense also. I have a trust in her that as a defender is important and is something that you should have with most of your teammates. I know that she will do everything that she can so that the team can succeed, which is what I think makes Madison such a great teammate and captain."


Luckett talked about her learning curve since arriving at NDC:

"I would say the biggest thing I learned was communication and time management. When traveling for away games, it is really important that I would give my professors enough time to give me work I would miss in class and doing it on the bus or once we arrived at the hotel. Also, whenever I would have an issue regarding my classes or professors, I would go to my coaches right away and they were always able to help as much as possible."


Luckett talked about the transition to being a midfielder:

"What drew me to playing mid was that I like being able to control the game. I've always enjoyed being able to assist a great ball to the forwards, or taking shots on goal myself. Being in the midfield is challenging, and I like how it pushes me to always be engaged 24/7."


Barr told me how special the senior class is that she is a part of this season:

"Our senior class is special, and I believe it's a huge part of our team and what makes us competitive. We have a lot of starters and great players in our senior class that have been key players almost all throughout the years we have been here. This year is a huge year for us because we all have something to prove before we leave, and we want to leave on a good note."


Pasalaqua added her thoughts:

"Our senior class this year is very special because we want it to be our best year while leaving it all out on the field. We all have love for the game and we want to better ourselves everyday in practices and games. We love to bring the team together and create those strong bonds to bring onto the field."


Luckett talked about when she knew she was coming to NDC:

"My junior year of high school I attended a Kent State ID camp. Coach Rob (Miller) was also there, and he sent me an email a couple weeks later, asking if I would be interested in visiting the campus and meeting the coaching staff and players shortly after my visit. I had a phone call with Coach (Mike) Shiels, and decided to verbally commit."


Barr talked about Luckett:

"Madison is a hard working and technical teammate. We can be very hard on ourselves, so I think that's something that we have always related to and have in common. When Shiels named Jordan and I captains our junior year, I always wanted Madison next to us as a captain just for her work ethic on and off the field. So, I was very excited when Shiels told me she was going to be a captain with us this year. She is constantly putting everything she has into every practice and even more into games. She is someone that when I see that they're working hard she makes me want to work just as hard if not harder (which is hard to do.) She also is so smart with field knowledge and just anything else as well."


Barr told me that she and Luckett met freshman year with the two of them having dorms right down the hall from each other. "I was kind of shy at first and I believe she was too, so we took a second to really get to know each other. We weren't friends right away but now I consider Madison to be one of my best friends and someone I trust a lot. That started shortly after we moved in and got to spend time with each other and got to truly know each other while going through preseason with one another."


Pasalaqua talked about when they met:

"The first time I met Madison was when we first moved in to be roommates. We were both shy at first but then we started to click, we gained a friendship bond to where we could have a trust in one another for anything and have each other's backs. She was a likeable person to me and others, not one selfish bone in her body."


Here are Luckett's thoughts on the coaching staff:

"The biggest thing I've learned from Shiels since being here is how important it is to always be engaged in practice and games. He's had a successful career as a coach, so he pushes us to win. It doesn't matter how the goal is scored, as long as we get the three points (for the win.) While being serious he also makes sure we're having fun. He'll sometimes throw in a game to change the mood from being serious to having fun. What makes the coaches unique is they help make soccer fun and enjoyable, while also making it competitive. Also, they are able to put us in positions where they know we can achieve great things. They've taught us to get out of our comfort zone."


Barr talked about what makes Shiels such a solid coach:

"Shiels is a good coach that really gets to know his players and how we react to things. He uses that to his advantage to make sure that we are all connecting on the team and creating an atmosphere where we can all be the best versions of ourselves."


Luckett said this about what she has improved on the most since arriving at NDC:

"The biggest improvement in my game would be how I mentally prepare for each game. Once I get in the game, I know what to do and don't have to think about it. When I was in high school the mental part of the game was something I didn't really have to worry about because the competition wasn't nearly as high as the college level. If I ever make a mistake, I don't get too down on myself, I brush it off and make another play happen."

"The biggest difference between soccer at the high school and collegiate level would be the intensity and competition. Coming from such a small school, I was a big fish in a small pond. Once I started competing at the collegiate level, I knew I always had to give 100 percent to earn my spot on the field. The college level is the the best of the best from high schools all-around."

The championship season of 2020 and picking up a pair of good friends in the process will always be at the top of Luckett's highlighlight reel. She spoke about that:

"The best memory I've had so far is winning a conference championship my sophomore year. When I first met Jordan and Drew, I knew those two were going to be some of my best friend's right when we started to hang out. It felt like we knew each other for years. We have so much fun on and off the field. We're all very competitive and have the same drive, and I think that's one of the main reasons we're such good teammates and friends. We push each other to give it our all. Throughout the last three years playing with each other, our bonds kept growing. I truly wouldn't want to be captains with anyone else."


Luckett told me that Lindsey Horan of the US Women's National Team is a midfielder that she has always looked up to. "She's able to make so much happen in the midfield, and scores insane goals. She's always competitive and gives it her all," Luckett explained.


Barr talked about fun memories with Luckett:

"I would say Madison and I have had a lot of great moments together. A couple of those being captains together and winning a championship together as well. But we also have great off the field moments as well where we just sit and talk about life and just get to talk about anything with each other and comfort each other when needed. I think those are the moments I cherish most with Madison just because we are so close now. It's hard to say what the future holds and where we both might end up. I know that I will always have a great friend and teammate no matter what."


Pasalaqua talked about Luckett's biggest improvement:

"I would say Madison's biggest improvement would be her confidence on the field and having more of a voice towards the girls to make us a better team."


Barr agreed:

"The biggest improvement that has helped Madison a lot with soccer is her confidence. Comparing freshman year to now, she is so confident on the ball and making decisions in the game. I think freshman year was a little bit intimidating for all of us just because it was a new environment for the majority of us."


Pasalaqua talked connections:

"The best moments being here are always making the connections with the girls on the team and creating big things for our soccer program. Winning the championship our sophomore year was our biggest highlight through all the injuries and COVID restrictions we went through."


Barr talked about the underclassmen:

"Our underclassmen are amazing. They all have great personalities and are very good on the field. They mesh well with the team chemistry that we already had and made it stronger. I love the team that we have this year and we believe we can accomplish great things if we work our butts off, stick to our goals, and work for each other because the competition is never easy, but I believe that we're better."


Notre Dame College Women's Soccer (7-7-4 6-6-4 MEC) will open play in the MEC Tournament as the #3 seed in the Northern Division and will travel to #2 in the North Fairmont State (10-3-4 10-3-3 MEC) for a 7 PM kickoff tomorrow night (Tuesday night) in the quarterfinals of the MEC Tournament at Duvall-Rosier Field. The winner of Tuesday's quarterfinal will take on the winner of Davis & Elkins vs West Virginia State on Friday at 4 PM.

MEC Quarterfinals (Tuesday 11/1:)

#4 North Wheeling @ #1 North Frostburg State- 6 PM

#3 South Charleston @ #2 South Concord- 1 PM

#4 South Davis & Elkins @ #1 South West Virginia State - 6 PM

#3 North Notre Dame College @ #2 North Fairmont State- 7 PM

Semifinals (Friday (11/4:)

Wheeling/Frostburg Winner vs UC/CU winner- 4 PM

D&E/West Virginia State Winner vs Fairmont/NDC Winner: 4 PM

Sunday (11/4:) Champion @ 1 PM




2022 NDC Women's Soccer Team on senior day!


Luckett and Barr!

Luckett and Pasalaqua!

Luckett!

107 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page