top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

The Importance Of Resilience And Lofty Expectations.

With Madison Olszewski, Ella Collinsworth, and Avery Robinson from NDC Softball.


"A lesson that I will always carry with me from my teachers and coaches at NDC is the importance of resilience," senior NDC pitcher/third baseman Madi Olszewski mentioned. "They consistently emphasize the value of bouncing back from setbacks, learning from failures, and maintaining a positive mindset. This lesson goes beyond the academic and athletic realms. shaping my approach to challenges in various aspects of life. The ability to persevere and stay focused on long term goals has proven invaluable and is a mindset I intend to apply throughout my life," she said.


"One lesson I have learned is to never be afraid of rejection or failure," NDC freshman pitcher/position player Avery Robinson said. "Softball is a sport of failure nd you can't dwell on that, that is something we work hard on as a team to not do. This applies in school as well, because you can not have one bad grade define you as a person," she added.


"Adaptability has been a key for Notre Dame College softball. Playing the infield and outfield is so different," NDC junior second baseman/outfielder Ella Collinsworth stated. "Before this year I would say I prefer second base, but I have grown so much s a defensive player since my freshman year that I have grown to love playing the outfield as well. I am more aggressive and confident."


"Olszewski talked about her hybrid role:

"I consider myself fortunate to have undertaken various roles during my time here at NDC, each demanding distinct responsibilities. Starting as a pitcher necessitates endurance and delivering optimal performance for an extended duration. In contrast, serving as a relief pitcher emphasizes adaptability and composure under high pressure situations. Playing third base requires not only defensive skills and quick reaction time but also a resilient mindset, as the position entails handling potential self-doubt after errors or challenging at-bats."


Then she talked about Collinsworth and Robinson:

"Ella and Avery shine both on the field and in the batter's box. I've had the pleasure of witnessing Ella's maturity and growth in her respective positions. She's not only a formidable presence in the game but also an incredibly supportive and kind person off the field. Ella has a unique ability to uplift others, and I always count on her when I need support."


"I have high expectations for this season," Robinson mentioned. "We have had an extremely good season to this point and everyday we practice we get better. Our team chemistry is really good so I believe that we are on our way to a very successful season."


The team took a spring break trip to Florida. Olszewski and Robinson gave some highlights of the trip:

8-3 trip with a six game win streak. Grace Fisher pitched a game with 10 K's. Coach Stopp got her 100th win. Avery got her first start as a pitcher and got the win. Jocelyn Quior had a bunch of stolen bases. Meadow Odum had a ton of RBI. Madi O had a couple of saves."


Collinsworth then talked expectations:

"Last year NDC softball made history. This year I plan to do the same. Now that I have two years under my belt, I know what to expect. I know what the teams are like that we are going to play. I know how most of the pitchers throw. I am a better player both offensively and defensively. I hope that this is my best year yet. I also have high expectations for this team. I expect us to do great things."


Robinson then talked about the coaching staff:

"The coaching staff is unique because Coach (Kelsey) Stopp is actually the daughter of Coach (Don) Coleman but she is the boss. I think that the dynamic of the coaching staff gives us an advantage because they know each other extremely well and that creates a very sturdy foundation for our team. All of our coaches are amazing people first and amazing coaches second, so it is very easy to play under their coaching. Every day they bring an energy to the table that is unmatched. Each of them bring a different energy to the table that all compliment each other. They all bleed blue and gold, and I think that is what makes them so special. That is why I think it is an honor to play for them."


Collinsworth talked about the coaches:

"I have played for Coach Stoop and Coach Coleman for three years now. They have coached me in different ways in my time here. Coach Stopp has helped me a lot with my outfield technique. She has made me a more aggressive player both offensively and defensively. Coach Coleman has helped me improve in the infield. He had made me a more confident player. Coach Rob (Sam Robertson) is primarily our pitching coach. I am not a pitcher but I admire how much she makes them work to improve their skills. Overall they have all helped me become the player that I am today. The three coaches are unique because they care about us both on and off the field. Coach Stopp always checks in with us about classes and how we are doing. I know that if I ever needed anything, they would not hesitate to help."


Olszewski answered the coaching question:

"Playing under Coach Stopp and the coaching staff at NDC has been a truly enriching experience. While our coaches may be demanding at times, their intentions are always rooted in fostering our individual and collective growth. They consistently push us to maximize our potential as players, fostering a competitive environment that ensures no one feels entitled to a particular position on the team."


Robinson talked about the misperception about being a student-athlete at this level:

"The biggest misperception is how competitive it is. Most of us have played travel/club softball softball against each other for years, but now at the D2 level these are some of the best of the best players all complied on to multiple teams so that makes the competition that much better."


Olszewski agreed:

"The prevailing misconception about D2 student-athletes is that it is less competitive nd demanding than D1. In truth D@ athletes contend with rigorous competition, intense training, nd high-performance expectations. Despite having lower visibility than D1 student-athletes D2 student-athletes manage challenging athletic and academic responsibilities. While acknowledging hard work in D1, the emphasis on excelling in both athletics and academics is more pronounced in D2."


Olszewski talked positions:

"While I have always been a pitcher, it wasn't until I joined NDC that I became a starting pitcher. Throughout my upbringing and particularly in high school , I was primarily an infielder, specifically playing shortstop and third base. This background has proven beneficial in my pitching role as I believe it enhances my ability to read batters effectively. Additionally, it has contributed to making me a reliable and consistent fielder when faced with balls hit in my direction. I find my preference in being a relief pitcher, thriving in clutch situations. Working well under pressure, I have actually sought improvement in this role. While starting may carry more allure and fame, I consider relief pitching exhilarating. It's particularly rewarding when enetering a game trailing and concluding with a victory."

Olszewski then talked about Collinsworth:

"Having Ella as a teammate on the field is absolutely essential. She has demonstrated excellence both at second base and in the outfield. Ella's high softball IQ provides a sense of comfort when the ball comes her way. Her effective communication ensures everyone is on the same page. What I appreciate most is Ella's self discipline, she holds herself to a high standard and being alongside her motivates me to strive for excellence as well."


Collinsworth tallked when she started playing and about her teammates:

"I started playing when I was 10 years old. My dad was my coach for most of my life. I was always traveling each weekend playing and definitely made it a priority in my life. I love my teammates they are like family. Especially this year, we have a great group of girls. We are there to pick each other up and cheer each other on. Having good chemistry is so important to having a good season."

Then she talked about playing behind Olszewski:

"I love playing behind Madi. She is a contact pitcher, So I am always on my toes. She keeps me locked into the game and brings a lot of energy to the mound."

Collinsworth then talked improvement:

" My biggest improvement is my confidence. I was quiet and scared to make a mistake y freshman year. That is not how you should play the game or go through life. Now I am confident in my skills, on and off the field," she added.


Olszewski closed with these thoughts:

"Since arriving at NDC my most significant improvement has been in refining my pitching technique. Working closely with coaches and teammates, I've specifically honed my curveball and enhanced my overall pitching strategies. The collaborative and focused training environment at NDC has allowed me to make substantial progress in my pitching repertoire. This improvement not only contributes to my individual performance but also adds value to the teams overall capabilities on the field. While winning is a goal I emphasize he importance of personal and team development. I expect each team member to contribute their best effort, embrace challenges, and maintain a positive as well as determined attitude. Ultimately success will be measured not only by oucomes on the field but also by the growth and camaraderie we cultivate as a team."


The Notre Dame College Falcons (29-22 10-14 MEC) close out the regular season when they take on Wheeling University (9-41 4-22 MEC) onApril 26th at 2 and 4 PM while they battle West Liberty University (17-29 11-15 MEC) on April 27th at 1 and 3 PM on Normandy Field.



#FlyAbove




Olszewski rocks and fires



Robinson has made an impact at the dish and on the mound this season





The versatility of Collinsworth has been key


132 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page