top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

The Legend Of Ebony Reddick Playing The MEC Championship Game on One Leg...

And the Road Back To Defend A Conference Title:


A lot has happened in the world since COVID-19 has begun, some memorable, some not, but something truly remarkable happened on the LaCrosse field April 30,2021. Ebony Reddick, the NDC senior from Pottstown, Pa. played the MEC Championship Game against Frostburg State on one one leg. And they won 14-10, the first conference championship for NDC LaCrosse in program history.



Her teammate Kendall Johnson, a junior from Atlanta, Ga. was amazed by this:

"Ebony playing the MEC Championship Game on a torn ACL is something that is legendary and will be in my mind forever, "Johnson explained. "Personally I didn't think her ACL was torn so to find that out was very shocking. The way she was able to move and cut during the championship game you would have never thought she was hurt. Not only did she play during that game she played phenomenal and played her heart out for the win along with the rest of the team. Her being on the field for that game had a very positive impact on the game and made the team pumped as well."



Freshman defender Camille Braithwaite had another take on Reddick's performance:

"Ebony playing the MEC Championship Game on one leg was literally crazy. "I wasn't here for that game but from watching it online you could barely tell she was injured."



Reddick told me that it was tough at times but she knew that the feeling that she had in her knee was only temporary and that after surgery she is ready to be the athlete that she was before the injury. " My knee is good. I can not rush the process, starting off in small increments will be helpful. " Reddick stated. "Everything takes time, patience, and hard work. "She also mentioned that she got her ability to never give up because of her Dad's influence and her dependability because of her Mom's influence.



Braithwaite talked about Reddick:

"I Think it's amazing and shows how brave and dedicated she is to the team. A lot of other people would have sat out, so I think it just shows her strength and talent."



Reddick told me that it had always been a dream of hers to play in a championship game and that became a reality on that day last April. It was her first championship game so she wanted to try and do everything that she could to play in the game that day. She stated this about it:

"The pain I had in my leg was unfelt because of the adrenaline pumping through my body on game day. I continuously told myself I was going to play and contribute in the championship game. The hardest part of it all was whenever I did feel pain to continue to fight through it, also hoping that my ACL was not totally torn. The easiest part was being able to have trust in my team that if I was not able to play to my full potential with an injury that they would have my back and still win. My knee feels great now, just starting to become more comfortable and to be in lacrosse shape."


Johnson talked about Reddick and how their relationship has grown since they are both captains:

"This school year alone we have gotten very close outside of lacrosse too. We are both captains. I know our friendship will continue after college based on the memories we have made this semester alone. She is a friend who will tell you what you need to hear straight up and won't sugar coat anything. Not only that but our birthdays are a day apart. "So it's almost like we were meant to be friends."


Braithwaite talked about how positive Reddick always is:

"Ebony is always encouraging and willing to help others. I love taking advice from her because it makes me a better player and she never talks in a derogatory way, it's always positive to help you improve. Anything she says is to help the team and she makes sure everyone knows what's going on. Ebony and I are good friends off the field too, we hang out a lot. I talk to her about anything and feel comfortable enough to confide in her about personal things. The best part about being on this team is the bonds that have been developed with my teammates. When I miss home, they always make it better. We are all really there for each other because we are in the same boat."



Reddick, Johnson, and Braithwaite talked about what makes the coaching staff at NDC unique:


"The coaching staff for NDC lax is unique. Being a captain and having closer relationships with the coaches allows you to see and know things the team may not know, and it allows me to better understand their thought process behind different things. Head coach, Ben (Morhac) truly wants the best for this team and will sometimes go nights without sleeping because he's thinking about what he can do to better the team and our play. (Assistant Coach) Liza (Mettler) spends hours watching lacrosse whether it's games or highlight reels on instagram. She has been a volunteer coach here for many years and even with her police job she takes time out of her long days to be here for us. Coach P (Graduate assistant Amanda Paino) going from our teammate to our coach has been an adjustment. It's different without her out there with us but we appreciate her player perspective now that she is our coach because she knows what it was like playing woman's lacrosse, "Johnson stated.

Braithwaite agreed:

"The coaches at NDC all bring something different to the table, but they are on the same page for goals for us. They all add very valuable parts to the team which helps us in different aspects of the game. They also are very understanding and make us feel comfortable. At the end of the day they know we are all human and we have other things going on in our lives and they are good about helping us when we are struggling."

Reddick added:

"Starting with Coach Ben, in my eyes he is a unique coach considering the fact that he is comfortable coaching a team full of females. He is very understanding and flexible enough to make sure everyone on the team is comfortable. Coach Mettler does a lot for us. She recruits talented teammates for the team each year, she gives back a lot to us. Coach P is unique considering she had to transfer from being a teammate to a coach. And she did it well."


Johnson told me the best part of this NDC lax team is that they have lots of fun. It doesn't matter if it's after practice or on the teams only off day they are always together. "We treat each other like family and look out for one another. I love playing with this team. We had so much fun last season and came out of it with a championship ring. Everyone is excited to do it again this year and that is what motivates us daily."


Johnson is awed by the abilities of her friend and fellow captain:

"What amazes me about Ebony is her ability to find the back of the net. She is so quick when she drives it is so fun to watch. Her field awareness is amazing because she always finds the perfect time to go and get the ball through the net. She is a great leader on the field and is fun to play with. We like to call each other 7/11 (Johnson wears #7 and Reddick #11 on their jerseys.) Watching her back on the field this season after her ACL injury is really exciting and I know she is going to do great things the rest of the season. Also her drive and passion for the game is what makes her a great teammate. You can tell how much she cares about the sport because, one she is good at it, and she knows when to be serious and have fun at the same time. Ebony is a major contributor to NDC lacrosse as a captain, and as a player, she is a great leader and I love having her as my co-captain.


NDC has concluded the regular season and looks to continue the roll that they have been on in MEC Play of late. They outscored the last three opponents that they faced 71-12.


Reddick gave her final thoughts:

"The expectation for my team coming off a conference championship is to continue winning conference titles from here on out. Being a very balanced and well disciplined team. When playing lacrosse you can not be an individual player so getting along with teammates and working together is always expected. We should be a team that gets through anything that comes our way and defeat it."


Reddick said that senior day this season was different but still memorable. She said she was grateful for what her teammates and coaches did for her and the other seniors.

She also talked about the big week that she had recently setting a pair of career highs:

"My career high of six goals was unexpected. I really wanted that game badly (a 13-12 loss at Frostburg State) and felt great playing. I believe I am starting to get back to my pre- injury self. I caught myself by surprise on how well I played. I am excited and I am hoping to progress as each game comes along. Same thing in setting the school record in assists with nine (against West Virginia Wesleyan) it was a surprise for me. I did not expect to break the record and it was never a thought in my mind to do that. I enjoy helping my teammates out and it was nice seeing some other names on the stat sheet. It builds confidence with everybody."

As for being named offensive player of the week she had this to say:

"Being recognized as offensive player of the week is exciting to hear and motivating. It makes me want to better my skills for the upcoming games. Getting recognized by the conference is a confidence builder. Hard work is always noticed in this game." That was the case on Wednesday when Reddick was named to the MEC All Conference First Team.


The NDC Woman's lacrosse team (8-6 7-1 MEC) will be the top seed and host of of the MEC Tournament, tomorrow, May 5th. They will take on the fourth seeded Davis & Elkins College Senators at Mueller Field in the MEC Semifinals. First draw is set for 3 PM. The winner will take on the winner of second seeded Frostburg State and third seeded University of Charleston in the MEC Finals on Sunday with the higher seed as the host.








170 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page