top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Vorhees Continues To Build On Scoring Record.

No one will know how big the legacy of Will Vorhees is until his days at Notre Dame College are over- but he definitely put it in perspective after he scored 34 points and passed Tyree Gaiter as the all time leading scorer in NDC history on February 9th. Vorhees currently has 2,501 points and counting- while Gaiter finished his career with 2,421 of his own. He is also the first player in MEC history to score 2,000 points and grab 1,000 rebounds. Anyone who knows or has ever met him knows he could care less about the stats though. With Vorhees it is all about the team and he loves this group:


" It was a perfect night in every way. Words can not describe what it means. Could not do it without my brothers. I am absolutely blessed. It was a great honor to receive my 2,000 point ball in front of my friends- teammates- and- especially my family before the Fairmont game. To one up that I was also fortunate enough to break the all-time scoring record here at Notre Dame College on the same night. To make things even sweeter the squad was able to pull off a huge win. Just want to thank everyone who has supported me and been a part of it. My college career is getting closer and closer to being over so I cherish moments like those. I love you dad- and- this is all for you. Keep watching over me- and- blessing me everyday." Vorhees stated.

Vorhees does not remember exactly when the first basket of his career was but remembers it was against Shaw in the first game of the conference challenge at West Virginia State back in 2014. Playing with an elite scorer like Tyree taught me the mentality you have to have to score at such a higher rate. Plus he made my job a lot easier cause back then he was the primary focus for other teams in terms of setting up their defense. My best NDC memory was the win over Fairmont State. The hardest part of getting to this point was doing it without my dad. Me and Ty have always been good friends- I still talk to him to this day.

Gaiter played from 2012-2015 at NDC and had the old record. His career high was 42 points on 12/3/15. While Vorhees had a career high 48 points against Urbana on 2/24/2017. Both are products of Ohio. Gaiter being a native of Cleveland Heights- and- Vorhees of Lima.

Gaiter talked about when he and Vorhees played together:

" Will is one of the best teammates I ever had at NDC. We fed off each others games. We knew if one person's game was off on a certain night the other one had to pick it up a little more. When you have two dominant players you are going to argue sometimes but it was all because we both wanted to win at the end of the day. I wish I had another season with the guy after the 2015-16 season.

On when he knew Vorhees could break the record:

" I always thought Will had a chance to break the record. Anytime you have a big man that can score inside and out- with the style of play we have. The record was going to be easy to break." Gaiter said.

Gaiter added about the two best players he ever played with at NDC:

" The two best players I ever played with were Lawrence "Dion" De'Armond and Will. Will and I still communicate today. As a matter of fact I still stay in contact with all my former teammates. As well as following the program- and- showing support at the games."

Gaiter played overseas last season before his season was cut short by an injury. He talked about that:

"Playing in France last year was a great experience. It was a different style of play. We only played once a week. The culture was different- so it took a little time to get adjusted and used to before my season was cut short due to injury. We were second in our division- and- I was averaging 20 points- eight assists- and- three steals. I enjoyed my time with my teammates and the fans there."

Vorhees and the Falcons have there last two home games of the regular season this week. He and the rest of the program are hoping that this is just the beginning of a deep run into March.


83 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page