top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Will-Ing His Way To The Top In The Midst Of a Pandemic.

A lot has changed in the world in 2020. One thing that has not despite all that is going on in the world is that Will Vorhees can really play basketball. Vorhees is back in Germany, but after some changes he will be with a new team in 2020. Here is what Vorhees had to say about his new squad Rasta Vechta, and how things are different in 2020 after a new one-year contract:

" Rasta Vechta is a club located in Northern Germany. It has a population of approximately 31,000 people and is part of the BBL which is the highest tier league in Germany. My goal coming right out of college was to play in the first league so I'm excited to get the opportunity,"Vorhees stated.

He then continued:

" Last year I played for Eisenbaren Bremerhaven, a team that plays in the Pro-A which is also located in Northern Germany. Vechta and Bremerhaven are a little over an hour and a half away from each other. The way it works in Germany is they have four leagues from top to bottom (Bundslegia, then Pro-A, then Pro-B, then Regionaligga.) The teams move up and down like soccer. Whoever makes it to the Finals usually are the two teams who move up a league as long as they meet first league requirements, such as adequate facilities or finances. This is when things get tricky this season. Last season when I was on Eisenbaren, the team finished in second place once the season ended prematurely with five games left in the regular season. With the Corona Virus pandemic it hurt a lot of clubs finances, so Eisnebaren in this case has to remain in Pro-A. Fortunately for me I was able to sign a one-year deal with Vechta."

Vorhees told me that as of now it seems the season is a go. Whether they have fans or not is still to be determined. "I flew out September 1st, and the season should start in October," Vorhees mentioned.

Vorhees spoke of ironically going to a Vechta game last season:

" I do not know anyone from the team but I did ironically go to a Vechta game last season and witnessed it in person. The atmosphere was really cool so hopefully fans will be in attendance."

Vorhees told me that the toughest part of the pandemic for him personally is having access to gyms and weight rooms. Luckily for him he has access to the gym he was using for his summer workouts with kids in Kalida, Ohio with the help of his High School Coach Ryan Stechshulte. Will told me how he thought the workouts went, and a possible change for next year:

" It went great. I was happy to give back to the community a little bit. Most of the kids were from the Kalida schools, so I was happy to help Coach Stetch develop some of his youth even as just a small favor for what he's done for me. I trained kids from ages 4-12 from all local areas in Putnam County. I plan on doing these workouts next summer, maybe even in the form of a camp if the pandemic clears up."

The influence that his former coaches Tim Koenig and Tim Baab have had on Vorhees, and the effect both have had on his life are well documented.Vorhees told me:

" TK and Baab have been a huge influence in the progress that I've made as a player as well as my transition to the pro level. I developed life-long relationships with both of them and keep in consistent contact with them as much as I am able to. The fact that I was in TK's first recruiting class and we both ended our final year at NDC with a conference tournament championship is so poetic, especially because of the emphasis that was placed on brining home a ring every single one of my years at NDC. It was truly a parternship in terms of chasing that goal, and the fact that we achieved that together is something I'll never forget. I actually just picked up my ring right before I headed to Germany. It all reminded me of how great a run it was in college, and not to take it for granted. It was also great to see Coach Richmond and talk a little hoops with him while I visited."

Vorhees spoke to me about what his first season in Germany was like:

" My first season in Germany went pretty well but also was physically and mentally enduring. At first just being somewhere different and being away from family was a little bit of a culture shock. My rookie year was successful in a lot of people's eyes but internally for me it was a bit of a roller coaster. I was used to performing at such a high level and looking at the stat sheet at the end of the game and seeing outrageous numbers when I played college ball. When that wasn't happening at the pro level it hurt my ego a little bit. Once I realized it's not going to be quite the same, especially in my first year, I got my emotions back together and started playing really well. Free throws were a struggle last season but I think it was all mental and confidence that made my percentage so low. This season I know what to expect and have a confidence about me that I was missing last season. My free throws will improve just on being more comfortable out there and knowing I belong."

Vorhees told me how his agent has been a big help in the process:

"I still have the same agent, Brian Jungreis. He has represented me well and put me in some great situations so far."

As for the living arrangements and picking up the language:

" I haven't really picked up the language much which is something I should probably start trying to put some effort towards. Vechta has given me my own apartment and car, although learning how to drive stick shift has been an interesting experience (ha ha) . "

Here is a little bit more about his new team:

" My Head Coach is Thomas Pach and he seems like a great coach and a players' coach which is obviously ideal for me. After a week of practice my teammates all look very good and provide many skill sets, and I'm looking forward to a successful season."

Vorhees gave some insight on what was the biggest lesson that he learned while at NDC that he still uses now:

" Play as hard as you can, and your teammates will follow suit. It doesn't matter how many points you score, if you are no fun to play with, your teammates are not going to make the hustle plays for you. The team will suffer and that leads to losses. If your teammates see you making the hustle plays and passing the ball to them when they are open, they are way more likely to give you their best effort in return. That's something I did not completely figure out until my fifth year when we won the championship."

Former NDC teammate Bruce Hodges talked about being proud of his former teammate:

" I am very proud of Will. A Lima kid doing big things always makes me proud!"Hodges said.

Vorhees then talked about his ultimate goal not changing:

" I think every basketball player's dream and goal should be to play in the NBA. If that is not your goal then you are selling yourself short."

Another former teammate Dan Lott talked about how much he knew about Vorhees the player after playing with him for a short time:

" It's a testament of hard work and skill. It's a no-brainer how great Will was just playing with him for one season. Hopefully he keeps going at an upwards trajectory and we see him as a pro in the states,"Lott opined.

Former NDC teammate and current Fairmont State junior Isaiah Sanders agreed:

" Will is a great player and a better person. Without the hard work and dedication he puts in day in and day out he wouldn't be where he is. This is only the beginning to a great career that he is starting. Hopefully one day I can make it to that level just like him,"Sanders mentioned.

Jacob Sala is another former Vorhees teammate and is a current member of the NDC basketball team. He gave his thought:

" Will is one of the best and hardest working players I've ever played with. This is just the beginning for him and hopefully we can see him playing professionally over here soon."Sala said.

Vorhees then gave this thought:

" I believe where I am is one step closer to the NBA but there are many more steps to take so I'm just going to focus on reaching my goal one step at a time."

Anyone who has ever spoken to Vorhees for just one second knows this is how he goes about his business.








501 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page