top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Will Mueller Magic Return In Year Two Of The Mental Era?

It is a quick turnaround from a spring football season to a fall one this year. Football is right around the corner for the Notre Dame College Falcons. I caught up with some members of the Falcons football team and they let me know their thoughts about everything NDC football. Here is what Devanaire Conliffe, Bryce Sheppert, and Jeremy Hamilton had to say about this different year for everyone. Of course, they all said the GameDay experience was definitely missed! And then continued.........


Conliffe started it off by saying the following: "I am looking forward to this coming year and getting better as a player and a team. We have yet to reach our full potential and I believe if we put in the work, the sky is the limit. GameDay is a different vibe around here as the fans are cheering on the team, your family is there and it is time to go to work. I miss the season everyday and can't wait until the first game.



Sheppert agreed:

"We have the best fans. They are always loud no matter what. I really missed playing in front of them, I can not wait until the season starts."


Coach Mental talked about how it all starts in practice:

"Having so many weapons is a good problem to have. Everyone has to earn their touches in practice. It all starts in practice. We go to the guys that we trust at the end of the day. They all look forward to the competition. The great thing about our guys is that at the end of the day they love to practice and work,"Mental explained.


He continued:

" Another thing we are conscious of the rep count we have after the quick turnaround from last spring. The guys hate when we take reps away from them in practice. We ramped up the reps in July and now know we are in a good place mentally and physically. We don't talk much about the opponents that we play. At the end of the day we know we have a target on our back and will get everybody's best shot. We have won three straight, and the fourth will be the hardest one to get. We don't care how others are doing it, we will do it our way,"Mental stated.


Conliffe wears #2 and is a senior wide receiver listed at six foot two and 235 pounds.


Sheppert said this about Conliffe:

" When I first met Dev I thought...he is a big dude that can run fast. The thing about Dev is he always gives it his all and he plays with a chip on his shoulder."


"The biggest thing that Dev brings is his work ethic. That is what separates him from others. When I first met Dev, we were in the weight room and in my head I was like I know he plays linebacker. And now I know that when I catch a ball and Conliffe is in front of me, I know I am good,"fellow receiver Jeremy Hamilton added.


This is what Conliffe said about the beginning of his journey:

" I came from Ohio Dominican. A lot of people get that school mixed up with Old Dominion. My decision to go there was based on family, future, and education. NDC was always a top option for me out of Willoughby South High School, but I felt leaving the city would be the best for me at that particular time."


The MEC leader in receptions in the spring told me what makes the coaching staff at NDC unique is that they are all 'player first coaches.' They know the game of football and how to communicate with their players."


Sheppert agreed:

"The coaches relationships with the players are amazing. I can talk to the coaches like one of my teammates."


Another thing that Conliffe explained to me is that in spite of COVID-19 last school year "the coaches and some staff have been great. They were always available." He also told me that the lesson that he learned the most is just to simplify his life. Then to focus on what really matters and take care of that.


Conliffe explained what a ride it was last season to a Mountain East (MEC) Championship:

"Obviously it was a different year last season with the shortened season and the pandemic, but helping NDC win a third straight MEC title was so much fun, and the offensive numbers were ridiculous. Best team I have ever played with as a whole. Family atmosphere in every position room and every side of the ball including the coaches.


Conliffe explained Coach Mickey Mental's influence on the offense:

"We have so many weapons, Coach Mick is a genius when it comes to calling plays. It all starts with his play calling. And then I will talk about the O-line. By far the best lineman I have ever played with both on and off the field. Real solid guys in that room. Lastly with (NDC QB) Chris (Brimm) I haven't played with a QB like him. He is the best QB I have ever played with. The connection we were able to establish in just half of a season is amazing.



Jeremy Hamilton talked about what a weapon NDC has in Conliffe:

"Dev makes a good teammate because of the energy he brings to our group. He always seems to make the plays with the ball in his hands, including three touchdowns in the MEC Championship Game."


Conliffe told me that the defense was kind of under the radar much of the season but were a big reason why the Falcons won a championship in the spring. "I believe the defense should get most of the credit. Defense wins championships! They carried us the whole season getting stop after stop and even putting multiple touchdowns on the board. When you have solid linebackers like Dylan Spaeth, Guam Lee, and Nathan Moore with Tavon Hooks, Ron Salters, Bryce Sheppert, and Nick Cotton on the back end, what more can you ask for? Shoutout to the men on the D-line as well."



Bryce Sheppert wears #13 and is a five foot 11 and 195 pound junior safety, one of the most athletic players ever to wear a Falcons' uniform.


Conliffe talked about the first time he went against Sheppert:

"My first time meeting Bryce was my first practice at NDC. We went against each other in a one on one drill and I was wondering who this physical guy was. I guess you could see that he had some field swag. "


Sheppert talked about the mindset of the defense:

"We don't care about anything like credit as a defense we just care about winning. We know we are the best. And I just felt more comfortable with everything when Coach Mick became the head coach.


Conliffe continued:

"What makes Bryce such a great teammate is that he communicates, not with just the defense but he is constantly encouraging the offense by letting us know they have our backs no matter the outcome of the drive."


Sheppert was about five or six years old when he started playing flag football and watching the NFL every Sunday. He showed some pride in his hometown as well. "I am from Stow and they are on the come up. A lot of good athletes come from there,"Sheppert mentioned.

He explained to me that he got his leadership from his dad and his passion from his mom.


Sheppert talked about how he ended up at NDC:

"I just wanted to go to a winning team and NDC seemed to really want me on the team. That was the deciding factor that got me to come here."

Sheppert is known for having a nose for the ball. This is how he put it:

"I feel like me and the ball are supposed to be together so I try my best to go get it. "Sheppert said.

He did just that with a pair of game clinching interceptions a season ago. Many would say that due to his athleticism he can play anywhere on the field. Sheppert told me he feels comfortable just about anywhere on the field and that's what separates him from a lot of guys. His versatility on defense and how dangerous he is with the ball in his hands.


Sheppert also told me that he believes the coaches at NDC are the best out there. "They put us in position to win every game, "he said.


Jeremy Hamilton wears #0 and is a five foot seven 180 pound senior wide receiver from Pittsburgh.


Quarterback Chris Brimm talked about when he met Hamilton:

"I met Jeremy when we both came in as freshman. Everyone coming in our class all built a relationship with each other early on, so that's pretty much when it started,"Brimm explained.


Brimm continued about Hamilton:

"I would say the best thing about Jeremy on and off the field is his upbeat attitude and willingness to learn. I don't think there's a time you don't see him laughing or making other people laugh, and I think that's important (especially during a time like training camp.) "


Hamilton does not have the size of Conliffe but can show flashes of speed and has reliable hands.


Brimm talked about Hamilton being a guy who had to fill a void quickly:

"After losing two senior receivers after the 2019 season we knew there were some younger guys and transfers that had big shoes to fill for the upcoming spring season. As soon as we got to campus in January building that connection was the only thing on our minds because we knew we had a special group. After getting everybody familiar with plays and concepts, it honestly didn't take long to build that connection and get everyone comfortable with the offense."


Hamilton talked about what separates this group from other teams:

"First of all the coaches are awesome. What makes them unique is that they let us play and be ourselves. It brings a lot of personality to our team and you can see that when we play."


He continued about why this offense is so potent:

"It is fun playing in our offense because anyone can have a day, literally anyone. It is tough to scheme against us because we have a wide variety of talent and skill in our receiver room and all of us are able to make plays with or without the ball."



Brimm agreed:

"It's always a blessing as a QB to have so many weapons at your disposal, because it makes the game easier. We also have a very hard working group of running backs and wideouts, and that takes a little stress off my shoulders."

Then he talked about the connection he and Hamilton have made:

"I believe any connection you have with a receiver and a QB comes from extra repetition. During the summer and the offseason, I always get with the receivers multiple days a week just trying to rep different route concepts. Practice makes perfect!"


Sheppert talked about the ultimate goal:

"The ultimate goal is to win the national championship and we're going to get it. Our team is very close and we get along so well together."


Hamilton closed with this thought:

"What makes this team so special on the field is we are brothers, we make sure everyone is good, and doing what they are supposed to do."


Making a quick turnaround after the MEC conference championship at the end of April the Falcons open with Ashland on this Saturday, September 4th with a noon kickoff in South Euclid at Mueller Field. The fans will be back in the stands, and the players will be ready to go.

Another shot at the ultimate goal!!#FlyAbove



Conliffe makes the catch against Charleston.

Sheppert with one of his two game clinching picks during the spring season!

Jeremy Hamilton!

91 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page