top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePete Valerian

Wright This Way: The Life Of A Dual Sport Athlete During A Pandemic



Notre Dame College Falcons freshman Alyssa Wright started playing both basketball and soccer when she was around four years old. She continues to play both at the collegiate level. That's unusual!!


Wright told me that in high school at Westerville North in Columbus she knew she wasn't ready to give up either sport. She always wanted to never have to choose.


She talked about her high school experience:

"My experience at Westerville North was pretty fun. I played a big role in the sports program for years and got to play with my best friends. It was a supportive school, and I was really close to the faculty, and staff. I keep in contact with a few people, and visit the school whenever I am home."



Wright told me that she was recruited for basketball first at NDC as she came on a visit to a girls game in the winter. Later on, she got recruited by soccer Coach Mike Shiels for soccer. "I got recruited from field level. Both coaches (Shiels, and Women's basketball coach Lauren Macer) worked something out so I could play both sports. Because of Covid coming around I did not go on an official visit for soccer."


Wright explained to me that the hardest part of being a dual sport athlete in the midst of a pandemic is time management. "Dealing with school, and two sports is a lot as a freshman. It also weighed a lot on my body, doing both, and not having a break since our season were moved,"she explained.



She talked about the biggest lesson she has learned this season as a dual sport athlete:

Doing more early puts you in a positive, and mentally relaxing direction. Doing my work before games, practices, trips, and not during, or trying to squeeze in on the way back saves me a lot of stress."



NDC women's basketball junior Jada Marone said she learned of Wright's love for both sports quickly:

" I think Alyssa can carry her drive, and passion from the basketball court over to the soccer field, and has. After getting to know her, and learning more about her being a dual sport-athlete, I found she has much love for both sports. This made it harder to pick just one. She is always thinking about one or the other, and where she can improve in both. She and I are similar on the court in terms of our basketball IQ and court vision. We are both smaller point guards that must create our own shots because they are harder to come by at our height. She is very much a team player, and earned more minutes as the season went on by stepping up in any role. Whether it was being more vocal, defending the best players on the opposing teams, assisting other players with her flashy passes, or just giving our team solid minutes whenever she stepped onto the floor. She just wanted to contribute any way that she could, with her passion for the game."



Wright spoke of meeting some of her soccer teammates:

" I met Anaya (Edwards,) Madi (Marino,) and- Theron (Ruff) in soccer. They were really nice, and cool. We have become friends, and built relationships to this day. I also got pretty close to Jordan (goalkeeper Jordan Pasalaqua) at the beginning of everything. She was really nice, and always tried to include me since I wasn't around much in the beginning."


Edwards talked about her relationship with Wright:

" I knew Alyssa because I played basketball, and soccer against her. We were in the same conference. We weren't really friends, but we did know each other, and once we got to NDC it felt like we had been friends already."


Edwards told me that she was going to try and play two sports herself, but decided against it. "I don't know how Alyssa plays two sports, but she does it. I was going to play two sports but I knew I wasn't going to be able to do it, and keep my grades up. Alyssa is out here, and she is managing to do it."


Wright explained to me that her biggest improvement since getting to NDC has been her teammate and practice skills. Being a good teammate, and not being afraid to be vocal. Going 100 percent constantly, and being coachable. She stated that " A lot of the little things have improved." Wright also explained to me that the biggest difference between the high school, and college game of soccer is "the pace of the game." and the way it is called by the refs.."


Ruff talked about what separates Wright from other athletes:

I think what separates Alyssa as an athlete is she does not give up. If she wants it, she gets it, and is going to work hard for it."


Ruff explained how the pandemic has made some things more challenging for the team:

"The toughest part has not been truly getting to know my teammates. We are not as close a team as maybe others are. I wish we were able to have more fun team bonding events. Also wearing these masks sucks."



Edwards talked about how doing just about anything with Wright is fun:

"Alyssa and I are friends, so having someone I can goof off with, laugh with is so nice. We always find something to laugh at, and she is good with solving problems."


Wright told me that in basketball, she and her roommate Willow White, got close really quickly. They got along since they met, and have made a good relationship with each other. They have kind of floated towards one another since the beginning.


Marone talked about when she first met Alyssa:

" The thing about Alyssa is she has such a great amount of energy for such a small body. She is full of love, excitement, passion, and jokes. She has to be the funniest person I have ever met in my entire life. She makes me laugh harder even if I don't want to. Her level of excitement to take on the day is exciting."


She then talked about Wright off the court:

" Alyssa is a soft-hearted individual who has so much love to give. If you have a chance to be a friend of hers, everything she says or does is out of love. I am grateful to say that I have been able to experience that side of her outside of basketball."


Wright said that she gets her sensitivity and open personality from her mom, and her nonchalantness and tougher side from her stepdad. She has a pair of younger brothers (Carson and Camden) on her mom's side, and an older brother Deven. On her stepdad's side she has six older siblings (Heaven, Brianna, Tyler, Kayli, Lashaun, and Vaughn) and one younger (Ryann.)


Marone talked about Wright as a floor general on the court:

"Alyssa is a smooth operator. She is a laid back point guard who does not look like she is putting forth much effort but gets the job done. She has a high basketball IQ when she steps onto the court. Her court vision is great, and her will to make her flashy passes is fantastic. I think most players would love to have the same will power to try anything new on the floor, with Alyssa she just does it. Her vibe on the floor is really relaxed, and never under pressure. I also think she strives extremely well in high pressure situations by staying collected and doing what she knows what to do."

Wright explained how her basketball teammates were so helpful to her:

"My basketball teammates really helped me my first semester. When I started out doing badly, they were really helpful and played a big sister role towards me since I was new to independent discipline. They got me on the right track. As a matter of fact, both sets of teammates were really nice, and outgoing. Both teams were welcoming coming in."


Wright explained her best memory so far:

"Covid stopped a lot of things, but playing in the MEC Tournament for basketball is probably my best memory so far. That was my first college tournament trip so that was pretty cool."


Basketball teammate Nadia Jackson talked about the energy that Wright brings:

"What Alyssa brings on the soccer field, and basketball court is energy. Her energy is always so great, and positive. I love playing with her, she is a great teammate, Jackson stated."


Jackson told me about how her friendship with Wright came together:

" When we first met our freshman year of high school we were young, and did not really know each other. We were not fond of each other right off the bat, but after a while we got closer. After our first time hanging out we knew we'd be friends for a minute. We were actually together when Alyssa made her decision to come to NDC, it was a very cool experience to be a part of. What makes her such a great teammate is she has such a big heart, and really cares for the game. She has always been a great teammate to play with. Everyday she goes into practice ready to go and push herself. I feel like her biggest improvement has been how much bigger, and stronger she is. I can't wait to take it far with her next year."



Wright, and her soccer teammates will open play in the MEC Tournament after winning the North Division with a 4-2-2 record. They will take on West Virginia Wesleyan today (Monday April 19th) at 4 PM at Mueller Field.



Marone looked ahead to another year with Wright, and summed it up this way:

" I am very excited to play with Alyssa next year. I am excited for the non sleeping bus trips with her. I am excited for the lame jokes she will crack on the sidelines during practice. I am excited for her growth on the court. I know she will be grinding the entire summer for the upcoming soccer, and basketball seasons. I don't have any doubt in my mind that Alyssa won't be ready.

After her first year with us she knows the preparation for both sports, and is going to come home ready to go. She's coming in hot!









188 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page